Every Life Matters

in #pet6 years ago

It has been 15 years since my family and I first started our animal rescue practice. It all began when I threw a tantrum at the age of 9 in a desperate attempt to get my parents to let me have a pet. Coincidentally, on the very next day, my mother found a lovely blue-eyed Siamese kitten at the market who became our first pet.

life.jpg

From then on, we became more and more active in animal rescue, doing what we can within our capabilities for every life that we come across. Our family grew larger from our first pet, to our second and eventually our highest record was approximately 20 pets including cats and dogs.

However, to our dismay, the numbers decrease quicker and quicker as time passed due to car accidents in my neighbourhood. 9 out of 10 times were hit and runs. It baffles me how humans as a species deemed superior to animals could be so stupid and selfish. The latest victim was our newcomer of two months who had a head injury that caused her slow, painful death. May this beautiful creature rest in peace.

Sort:  

Oh, that's just too sad. Rest in peace dear kitty.

I, once an animal rescuer (cats to be exact). Unfortunately, the neighborhood that I live in is not a pet-friendly neighborhood. Most of my pets were poisoned. It was so bad until we try not to let the cats go out from our compound. But that didn't stop them from escaping. When my last pet died because of food poisoning, I told my mom that it is best not to have pets again.

What you and your family did is inspiring. Your kindness act shows that humanity does still exist.

thank you viv, I still dream about my first pet from time to time. Sorry to hear about your story : | . Can't believe there are such people out there that uses execution to reduce the amount of stray cats. Rest in peace to your dear cat too

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

It is a noble thing to save so much critters (small animals) but at the same time sometimes people just do not notice when the cat dashes through.

The only sad part of cats is that they have a very wild nature (especially male ones) and they will wander until they are satisfied.

I agree humans should be more attentive when driving in housing areas to avoid hitting pets and other animals; and that, in general, humans need to really learn in basics.

(I pray hard that the driver that hit your cat was not texting or speeding... that'll be really sad)

upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97