My Nominations for the PHC Top 3 Monthly Contest - Kids TV Shows

in #phctop35 years ago (edited)

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

This month's topic is Kids TV Shows

IMG-20190328-WA0006.jpg

Once we had chosen the topic of Kids TV, It brought back strong memories of my childhood and of sharing my passions for tv with my brother Shaun. Every TV show and cartoon that I love will have memories of Shaun in with it. He is eight years younger than me and although that is insignificant now, at the time it was a big deal. But one thing it did do was extend our viewing window in regards to times and content a lot further than most. What I mean by that is that Shaun would have been watching the same stuff as me back when he was 4 or 5, right through to me watching the same stuff he was watching when I was in my late teens.

I thought long and hard about what I was going to pick. The simple fact is, I could choose three cartoons without blinking. But at the same time I could have chosen from a multitude of different kids shows that inspired, excited, moved or even scared me. I have finally settled on three different shows and, like last time, three very different types.

My first nomination is a cartoon and, let me tell you, this was a really difficult task for me. There are so many cartoons from my childhood that I am loyal to, it feels like a betrayal not picking every single one of them. Check out one of my most successful Steemit posts ever, certainly when it comes to engagement. My 10 Favourite Cartoons

My second nomination is of a game show that keyed into my passions for Dungeons and Dragons and other fantasy stuff. And finally my third nomination is a fantasy adventure mini series that was magical, scary and christmassy all at the same time. I hope you like them.

Nomination Number 1




Battle of The Planets

Image Source

Battle of the Planets; or G-Force as I affectionately remember it, was a sci-fi cartoon from the late 70’s and early 80’s. It centered around a team of 5 teenagers (Mark, Jason, Princess, Keyop and Tiny) that are trained to protect earth from attack. They all had individual skills and specialities that were pretty cool.

The attack of earth usually came in the form of Zoltar, a masked, lipstick touting badness with a classic throw your head back evil laugh. Zoltar is a master of disguise and deception, often dressed as a woman and regularly and humorously ridiculed by his big boss ‘The Luminous One’ for failing to kick G-Forces ass.

The team had a ship called the Phoenix (see intro) and that also housed lots of smaller machines and cool gadgets that the crew used to good effect.

The original series was made in Japan in 1972 and was called Science Ninja Team Gatchaman. Battle of the Planets is an English adaptation of the anime series that was produced in 1978 - 1980. Not only did they have to dub over in English but they also had to remove lots of the story because of adult connotation, excessive violence and profanity. I would have been around 7 years old when this came out and the images and the sentiment of the show has always stuck with me. It has also seen a mini revival led by the official website here.

http://www.battleoftheplanets.info/

If you could transport yourself to Henbury Junior School in the mid eighties you would witness a bunch of pre teens kicking the shit out of each other in the name of G-Force/Battle of the Planets. Good times!

Header Image Source

Honorable mentions: Dungeons and Dragons, Mr Rossi, Jayce and the Wheeled Warriors, Dartanian and the Three Muskehounds, Thundercats, Ulysses 31, Space Sentinels, Voltron, He-Man, Transformers, The Mysterious Cities of Gold, Wacky Races, Tom and Jerry, Hong Kong Phooey, Scooby Doo, Danger Mouse, Godzilla and Godzuki.

I could go on and on and on and on and on.............................

Nomination Number 2

Knightmare

So this is my gameshow choice. I'm pretty sure that unless you are from the UK you will not have heard of this but it left its mark on me. It is a Dungeons and Dragons style format using, at the time (1987), cutting edge technology to create a new world. OK, so cutting edge in the mid to late eighties was not very good compared to today's CGI but if you grew up in my era you would have been excited by it.

This is the whole first episode of season 1 theme tune included.

4 contestants had to brave the dungeons of Knightmare and try to survive and escape. 1 of the contestants wore a helmet that impaired their vision and the other three had to stay behind and communicate the instructions to them. It was a lot of puzzles and collecting artifacts and fleeing if a deranged monster appeared.

The Official Website

I played D&D and read the Fighting Fantasy (choose your own adventure) books and this was bringing everything I loved in those things to life. Right there to see. Again, I know it has dated really badly but if you look past that and more at the concept and idea, it's brilliant.

This is a clip of a review in the 100 best children's tv shows poll.


It finishes 16th overall but number 1 for gameshows. It gets my vote every time.

Honorable mentions: Pat Sharp's Funhouse, Crackerjack.

Nomination Number 3

The Box of Delights

This was a magical show created and adapted for TV from a bookof the same name by John Masefield. When I think of my childhood I think of the Box of Delights. It scared the living daylights out of me but it was so much more than one thing. Fantasy, adventure, good and evil, Christmas, snow, magic, flying cars, talking animals and the list goes on.

wolf.jpg

I can explain it to an extent but Piers Torday, who wrote a theater adaption of the story recently, can explain it far better than I can. but says everything I want to say. Here is the link to his review https://www.theguardian.com/books/booksblog/2017/nov/30/long-before-harry-potter-the-box-of-delights-remade-childrens-fantasy

Here is episode 1. Even if you just listen to the haunting theme tune it will be worth it.

An underrated masterpiece that has set the standard for more famous stories like Harry Potter etc.

Honorable mentions: A.L.F, The Dinosaurs, Saved by the Bell, Grange Hill, Fraggle Rock.

So there you go. I hope you enjoyed my trip down memory lane and that it has inspired you to enter this brilliant contest with an awesome topic. You can find this month's start post here

There are prizes to be won and with @curie 's continued support those prizes will be well worth going for.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Curation Trail

We have a curation trail for @phctop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Don’t forget to log into steemconnect.

Delegate to @phctop3:

5SP10SP25SP
50SP100SP150SP
200SP250SP300SP
400SP500SP1000SP

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

I'll have to check out your selections @cheese4ead, I'm not sure if they run in the U.S. ✔️

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't think The Box of Delights or Knightmare did but they are well worth checking out on youtube.

G-Force/Battle of the Planets, I think, was aired in the States although, I'm not sure how popular it was. It was huge in the UK though.

Thanks for commenting on my post. Hope to see your entry for this one. 😁

I haven't seen any of these Gaz but man I would have loved to have them in my childhood! Zoltar seems like a funny and awesome lipstick wearing villain. He's got style!

Would have loved to be part of that Nightmare game. Brilliant game show for kids ^_^

The last one would have been a choice for myself if it were around in my time. Love the scare and magical fantasy things. Right up my ally!

But what I enjoyed the most here is that you wrote how great it was and how meaningful it was for you to be watching with your brother. Great memories made!

Thanks Foxy.

They all mean a lot to me, that's for sure. I am expecting my brother @theunderbaker to be all over this. We shared most of these memories together and I know he has strong opinions on his own choices. They will probably be different than mine but I have an inkling of what they will be!

The Box of Delights is very dark, mystical and magical. I can imagine you would like it. It was right on the threshold of my scary-ometer. The characters were so strong but then it's based on a book which usually gives screen characters more depth. If you can ignore the fact that the special effects are very dated then you have a masterpiece of storytelling.

I always wanted to be on Knightmare. D&D and Fighting Fantasy were favourites of mine and this was bringing it to life (dated special effects aside). I am a weird mix of Jock and Geek! Always have been.

The Zoltar/Battle of the Planets thing is interesting. I am aware of an agenda pushing gender fluidity in recent times and it does annoy me in that it is grossly over represented. So it's fascinating to see an animation with a main character being a crossdresser/transvestite back in the early 70s. It was a cracking show with a great balance of action, comedy and drama.

If I can find a episodes of these I will watch them!

Funny you say about the gender fluidity part. I was looking at Sailor Moon
things (one of my choices) and found out about a last season that I haven't heard of. Sailor Moon Stars it was called. It was characters.. now I might be wrong cause I didnt see them and hasn't been dubbed in english, the girls would dress as men... or men as women? And it is totally LGBT! I want to watch it so bad but I wont understand a thing. I'm just so curious! I like that these shows push out of the norm like that. It's a huge thing!

Cool. I think there are a lot of hidden messages and easter eggs in these shows.

There was a kids show in the UK called Rainbow. It ran for a long time. When it finished the actors got together and produced a special edition that was full of innuendos and double entendre. It's hilarious. It gets passed off as a genuine episode but it isn't.

That's what makes it a good show.

Love the intro sharing some of those family memories! There's 5 years difference between my older sister and younger sister, so we have a good range, as well. Especially with me being in the middle I caught both ends of the spectrum. That being said I have not seen any of your choices! They all sound fantastic, though, and you definitely shared your enthusiasm well. The game show sounds like a lot of fun. I bet every kid wanted to be on there! :)

Thanks @plantstoplanks

Middle of three! Year, your window was decent, too.

Two of my choices are very British though. The box of delights and Knightmare, wouldn't have aired in the States, I don't think. Battle of the Planets did though but it's late 70s early 80s, and you're only a young-un!! ;)

The cartoon sure brings back some fond memories... haha

They really do @roselifecoach

Me and my brother go on for hours about it. Special memories. What are your favourites?

Dude!! Knightmare!! Yes!! I was thinking of mentioning that in mine but there was already a long list to get through! I didn't get a chance to see many episodes but it was revolutionary at the time, it had you hooked like it was a Kids CGI version of the Crystal Maze.

Loved the way you described your school scenes, I can totally envisage that! Similar things happened at my school but we just had bundles, initiated by someone shouting "BUNDLLEEEEEE" :)

lmao! Bundles or pile-ons! Those were the days. Getting crushed under 10 rabid 10 year olds! 😁

A CGI version of The Crystal Maze is spot on. With a little D&D sprinkled over the top.

Thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! We've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on our blog for the dpoll post!

Remember to transfer 50% of the post payout as SBD to @phctop3 with a link to your entry in the memo, otherwise it won't be eligible. This is the minimum entry fee, there is no maximum. You can add as much as you like to your initial fee to give you bigger potential rewards.

text16.png

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86