You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Comedy Movies The Seventies

in #phctop35 years ago

Three brilliant choices and one cracking post. We really appreciate the effort in producing a good nominations post @joanstewart

I feel almost ashamed that I didn't include Peter Sellers in at least one of my three choices. The guy is a genius and a legend.

Holy Grail is top drawer funny. The Python boys, doing their thing with their clever humour. I'm more of a LOB fan but Grail is right up there.

The Rocky Horror Show kind of passed me by a little. I'm a big fan of Richard O'Brien and Tim Curry though. It used to drive me insane when I was clubbing in my younger years; not so long ago (stop it!), and the cool stuff we were dancing to got pulled for the Timewarp! Everyone one seemed to love it except me. :(

Love the information about SA from years ago. It's fascinating to see all the different experiences we have all gone through to get to this point.

Brilliant post and best of luck with the contest, Joan.

Gaz

Sort:  

Time warp fired up dance floors still does. Movie at the time many genders were frowned upon, this broke with the 'normal', being banned in South Africa to only make appearance years later in a stage performance.

About 40 years ago a handful of lucky South Africans managed to catch a screening of The Rocky Horror Picture Show just before the authorities banned it in the country. Back then, in Apartheid South Africa, the film was hugely transgressive.

Time has changed outlook, perhaps the movies had a small hand in this.

Monty Python have been a hit in our home with our sons loving the humour and quirkiness, we took them to the drive-in to watch when a lot younger and drive-in's where still around.

Peter Sellers in Pink Panther movies have been around for a long time (1963), always fun entertainment.

Thanks for visiting Gaz.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84