Exploring Bacolod City | Tips and Guidelines in Renewing Your Philippine Visa in The City of Smiles

in #philippines6 years ago

I had my passport appointment in Bacolod City where it is known as the City of Smiles. There aren't any available slots online in Cebu City, at first I successfully booked a slot in Dumaguete, this is much nearer to Cebu than in Bacolod, but I made a mistake and decided to cancel my appointment. I didn't know that even if you made a mistake in filling up the form you can still make an appearance and do some changes. Of course, I also want to explore Bacolod. I took the chances and went there alone. This was my first time traveling to a different city all by myself. I really feel like a real adult! lol! In this post, I will share my experience on how I processed the renewal of my passport.

How did I get to Bacolod City?

There are so many ways to go to Bacolod City, it's either by bus or by plane. Since I'm from Cebu City, I will just share the route that I took to get on the said place.
First, head to Cebu South Bus Terminal and look for the bus which is going to Toledo City.

It took me 4 hours to get to my destination because of frequent stops just to pick up and unload passengers. You can have another option in getting to Toledo City which will probably take you about 2 hours, you can take the V-hire near Ayala Mall. I opted to take the bus because I came all the way from Talisay Cebu and I'm afraid it might take me so long to get to Ayala V-hire Terminal.

Bus Fare = 70 PHP (50 PHP Fare + 20 PHP for Terminal Fee)
V-hire = 100 PHP

Arriving in Toledo City

When I arrived in Toledo City, I rode a tricycle going to Toledo port which took about 5-6 minutes. You can also take the pedicab to get to the port. Better ride with other passengers because they will charge you more if you ride the tricycle or pedicab alone.

Tricycle Fare = 15 PHP
Pedicab Fare = 20 PHP

From Toledo Port



I was aiming to catch the 1 PM Ferry, unfortunately, I didn't make it. Good thing, SuperCat Ferry have a 3 PM trip going to San Carlos Port. I waited for about 1 hour and 30 minutes, I chose the Economy seat for 190 PHP. Don't forget to pay 15 PHP for the terminal fee.

The ever spacious Economy class of SuperCat Ferry.

From San Carlos Port to San Carlos Terminal

Once I arrived at San Carlos Port, I took a tricycle going to the San Carlos Terminal. Found the Ceres Bus which is heading to Bacolod City. This trip took about 2 hours.

Tricycle Fare = 8 PHP or 10 PHP
Airconditioned Bus = 153 PHP
Non-airconditioned Bus = 130 PHP

Bacolod City Proper

I exactly arrived at around 7 PM at South Ceres Liner - South Bound Terminal located at 14 Lopez Jaena Street. It was roughly a 10-hour trip from Cebu. It was really a long and tiring trip that I'm too tired taking pictures when I arrived at the Bacolod Bus Terminal. I got hungry and headed to Manukan Country in Lacson Street. I was planning to take a jeepney going to Lacson Street, but I'm too tired and famished, I booked a grab car instead.

I've been here once but I can't get enough with their very tasty chicken. You gotta eat this with your bare hands. I can't help myself and uttered their popular dialect phrase "Namit jud!" which means delicious. Hope I said it right! LOL!

Roaming around Lacson Street

My scheduled appointment is on 19th of April at 10:00 AM and came here before my scheduled appointment. I walked around the streets looking for the nearest Pension House. I kept searching for the most budget-friendly Pension House and found this place.


This photo was taken the next morning.

I could say, it was worth the walk! I did a 1.8 km walk from SM Bacolod Mall. One night stay here cost 600 PHP, but if you're looking for a much cheaper place, I recommend Ong Bun Pension house which only cost about 400 PHP. They were fully booked when I got there. I was a bit scared when heading to Manna Pension House because the streets were dark and empty. It was hard for me to locate this place even I used my Google map. Luckily, a man helped me to find this place.

I have this spacious bed all entirely to myself. LOL!

PASSPORT RENEWAL DAY

I got up at around 7 AM and got out from the pension house around 8 AM. Rode a grab car and headed to Robinson Mall in Circumferential Road. DFA office is located on the 3rd floor of Robinson mall.

Once arriving at the DFA office, be sure that you have followed the instructions properly and printed out the pdf file from the DFA website and give this to the person near the entrance and wait for your name to be called.

STEP 1: REGISTRATION

Register your name if you booked an appointment online. Make sure to have a photocopy of these following documents: Any valid Identification cards (front and back), NSO birth certificate, page 2 and the back portion of your old passport, and of course, your old passport. Prepare an envelope to keep all the necessary documents.

STEP 2: PROCESSING

After you have compiled the necessary documents, proceed to the Processing Area and wait for your name to be called. Once you are called they will recheck your documents if you have properly filled them up.

STEP 3: CASHIER

If you wish to expedite the process of your passport, it will only take 10 working days, but if you're not in a hurry you can choose the good for 20 working days.

EXPRESS = 1200 PHP
REGULAR = 950 PHP

I chose the latter one.

STEP 4: ENCODING

Once you have settled your payments at the cashier window. Time for picture taking! Kidding! Time to prepare yourself for a mug shot, I mean for your passport picture.

STEP 5: PASSPORT SHIPPING THROUGH LBC

I added STEP 5 in case you want your Passport to be delivered right in front of your doorstep. If you're living outside Bacolod or far from Bacolod City, I suggest paying a courier to ship your passport to your address. The arrival of your passport will depend on what processing time you chose from the cashier window. I paid 150 PHP, I think this rate is for Visayas region.

A reward for myself after I accomplished processing my passport. :D

OTHER THINGS TO DO IN BACOLOD

Visit The Ruins

I finished everything at around 12 noon and I felt like I'm not ready to leave the place yet, I decided to visit the Ruins.

It took me 10 minutes to arrive at The Ruins from Robinson Mall. It was so hot when I came to the place, everyone was hiding in the shed.

Try Their Streetfood

The best part before leaving Bacolod City is eating one of their street food. I was glad when I saw this food cart, can't contain my happiness because I can my favorite Dynamite snacks.

My favorite version of Dynamite. <3 Btw, they call this Dynamite because of its very spicy taste.

TOTAL EXPENSES

Bus going to Toledo = 70 PHP
Tricycle going to Toledo Port= 20 PHP
Ferry(Back and Forth) = 390 + 30 PHP (terminal fee)
Tricycle going to San Carlos Terminal = 10 PHP
Airconditioned Bus going to Bacolod(Back and Forth) = 306 PHP
Pension House = 600 PHP
Regular Passport Processing Time = 950 PHP
The Ruins Entrance (regular)= 100 PHP
V-hire going back to Cebu = 100 PHP

TOTAL: 2576 PHP

That ends my Bacolod Adventures! Looking forward to more solo trips!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by ninyea being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

excelente post y excelente información es de mucha ayuda, te invito a pasarte por mi blog y leer mis post y que me regales tu voto en los post vigentes, te seguí, vote tu post y lo compartí, saludos desde Venezuela

Hey, just wanted to let you know I gave you an upvote because I appreciate your content! =D See you around

@greentomorrow did not give you an upvote and has made this exact same comment hundreds of times.

Click the flag to downvote this @greentomorrow comment!

greentomorrow.png

Here are a few ways to support @duplibot and help reduce spam and superfluous comments.

waaaaahhhh so nice miss! the dynamite i love ...... see yah soon

Kbw ko mohimo ug dynamite miss! hhahaha

cge miss @ninyea ka nice .. cooking session soon? yeyyyyy teach me PLIIIITTTH? i wanna know how to make those

asa ta mag luto2 ani?

sa inyo miss? hehehe no kitchen sa place amo or ilang @thefairlady?

oo gege ok ra kaau dre after steemsummit hehe

That's a long way to go to get your passport. Are you going on a trip?

Yeah! indeed that was fun and an exhausting trip at the same time! I would love to, but I'll take a rest from long trips. lol!

Thanks for this quick guide, this will really help a lot especially those who want to visit Bacolod :)

That's right! Thank you! :)

Girl, why you're alone?dapat sinama mu ako hehe=)

Para makalimot! lol! If pa negros ako ulit, I'll inform you girl!!! xD

Wow, bakit bigo ka? heheh.. sigeh sabihan mu akio .. hehe

Para sabay sa uso! joke! may gusto akong puntahan sa siquijor yung infinity pool at triad nla ang ganda. pag pupunta ako issama kita. haha

As.n? hehe e search ko nga.. Hehe let me know lang in advance.. Hehe

I'm glad that you went home safe. It's kinda hard to travel alone especially you're a female. The danger is there though. I'm pretty sure you had a blast. That was a wonderful trip indeed. Who knows you might be there in the wonderful places in the island of Luzon xx.

Yes, you're right! I did have a blast! Can't wait to explore and set foot in Luzon alone. lol!

Oh! Lol sounds like a plan. I'm going to pray not only to Jesus but to all saints that I hope you have a wonderful but safe trip in the island of Luzon. From CAR to Region 5 plenty places to see.

Loading...

New to steemit? join this group and follow guidelines section and inivite your friends https://discord.gg/2zDP3Gr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91