You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Acceptance and Balance.

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

Oooh food for thought!! I'm in and here's my few cents 😁

I'm one of those people who uses the f bomb like it's an "and" or "the" if anything just for emphasis and habit, but it doubles/triples and get more colourful when I am pissed off. Believe it or not there was a time were I was meek and had perfect manners and didn't swear like a sailor but in my teens I found myself in a situation where if I didn't harden up I'd get eaten alive so I adapted and adjusted.

I quickly realised at a young age that people do not necessarily have the same manners and sense of boundaries as I do and I'm actually quite a sensitive person so I was always dumbfounded and hurt by the shit people think is appropriate or passable behaviour thus the adjustment.

As much as ideally everyone accepts everyone for who they are, the sad reality is that's not always going to happen. As a society we're all not there yet and for me it's not so much as acceptance of myself that I am after (I am a complex creature after all) but I do require respect towards my boundaries. The reality is, we don't actually need to put up with anyone or accept anyone and I think this is how people find their people and grow.

Imagine a flower surrounded by aggressive weeds all up in their space, not being given the space or time to flourish. Then imagine that flower among its genus where they talk to each other and sync up.

As for the transgender community and humans built as men competing in women's events because they identify as women ~ I think people just need to be bloody honest with themselves. I see and respect that they identify as a woman but let's be real here, you weren't built as one despite what you feel. And in terms of physical capabilities, sure there's some girly men out there that I can probably outwork, but at the end of the day are they going to suffer through their periods every month.

Not saying every women suffer through it but I sure as hell do, and as much as I can probably out work that girly man most of the month, I'm sure as hell still going to have those few days of "dont f. with me" and go through my monthly. Will they ever get their periods? I don't know, I'm not up to date with this, but my point is. We aren't built the same, as much as transgender people think they are the other sex, fact of the matter is, you got shafted and chucked in another body and yall need to be real about that.

And in terms of competitive sport yall need to compete in the field your body was made of not the body you wish you were in.

Sort:  

Yes, community is definitely important. As we become bigger in our cities and distances traveled for work, we become more disconnected. Yet in theory we should also be able to find more people like us that we can connect with.

I grew up in a rough neighborhood, but never needed to swear. They used to tease me occasionally for being well spoken, but nothing other than that. I'm a redhead, though, so maybe it's the rumour of the temper which comes with it that meant people didn't mess with me. Lol! Or maybe it's the resting bitch face...🤔 I had the occasional person try it on, but just stared at them and they would leave me alone.

Few people are happy with their lot. It may not be as extreme as being born into the wrong gender, but you are right, we have to learn to live with what we're born with and accept the limits come with it. Some interesting thoughts on this, Arly. Thank you for your few cents. 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

It takes effort to find one's tribe but when you do it's awesome. I know more than others that one's tribe isn't necessarily the one they were born into.

The rough hood helps, being one of the lads helps, but what helps the most on the swearing department is if you've grown up around people who swore and was rough with their words on the regular.

I reckon being a ranga would have helped! ;) the resting bitch face would have worked a treat too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63866.68
ETH 3129.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87