You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Poking the Hornet's Nest the right way

in #philosophy6 years ago

This is a good thread but tough to comment on a bit for me at least. I feel like the teensy fly on the surface of the pond that could get eaten by a minnow lol. The points in the post ring true though and should help a lot of people. I could add that philosophy has always been a blood sport, I'd compare it to Overwatch, a popular modern mental duel where the last man standing wins, figuratively speaking. To enter the arena is to compete, if you are going after the champ, you better be ready for the fight with an arsenal to match your opponent.

Sort:  

The only winners in battles of minds are those that come out of the ring with more knowledge than before. The only defeat is made by those that remain intransigent, even if they appear to have won that particular joust.

As right as rain.

That's the level of poetic expression I hope to achieve one day. A good point expressed eloquently goes further than one any troll could grunt out from under his bridge yes?

Any day of the week.

I guess you are not necessarily wrong with that observation.... but it might be more accurate to say you people who enter the arena should just make sure they have sound arguments (weapons) and don't get caught arguing from ignorance (bluffing).

But I get your analogy.

It came out a bit hyperbolic, I'm new to these discussions and it will surly show. I agree that how you put it sounds better. Learning the tools (less violent analogy yes?) of the argument are very key. I'd say some that are on the positive side are to point to scientific research results or to use historical rebuttals and the bluffs or negatives are straw man arguments and ad homonym attacks but the list goes on. This is the discussion I've been looking for and I really appreciate your time and engagement, please let me know if I'm on the right track with it.

I believe you to be for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70