First Principles

in #philosophy6 years ago

THUMB03.jpg

Most people do not do what they think is right.

For example, many would work a different job or less hours if they could. Or they would live a different lifestyle, maybe do more generous things, travel more, contribute to different projects with their time. Unfortunately we all deal with life’s restrictions so we do what we can, rather than what we wish we could.

But is it possible to live a perfectly consistent life based on “first principles” ?

I think so. To do it, you must be willing to sacrifice everything else (in the short term) to live out those principles. When you don’t need all of the assumed necessities of life, ethics gets a lot easier.

If you can’t afford to buy something ethically, you just don’t buy it.

If you feel uneasy about something, you just don’t do it.

It’s more about what you don’t do than what you do. There are infinite options and “trolley problems” in ethics about what you do. But it’s pretty obvious when you can stop doing a thing in order to be more ethical.

People used to think I was an idiot (and I was, in ways) for these kinds of beliefs. They figured I would grow out of it. But when I was doing stuff like quitting jobs after a month because “the management is dumb and I can’t tolerate that” — I never did grow out of that. My first principle is that I can only work with people whom I respect.

So I find myself earning $300 to $500 per week as a freelance writer, mostly keeping to myself, focusing on self-education and making music from home for a year or two while I grow my income. And before that, I was basically earning nothing and had no idea what I was going to do, I could barely survive.

It wasn’t a smooth path. It would have been easier to just work some jobs and then develop a freelance practice on the side, but I don’t think that was a good idea. It only makes sense in retrospect.

I’m Not Alone

I’d argue that many of the world’s most beloved and revered figures were those who found a way to “solve the puzzle” of first principles. Mega-Celebrities both modern and classic - whether Seneca or Beyoncé - represent the idea of living a dream life.

“Not giving a fuck” is the same idea, being free to do what you want. Presumably what you want is related to some sense of ethics and what’s right to do.

And don’t we almost all revere the story of the hero who has a rough start? When you hear about the ultra-zillionaire on the news, and they’re in some interview talking about the difficult times earlier in their life, and how it was a long journey to the top — stuff like that is what makes us respect a person.

So I’m proud of my mistakes and/or messy spots in life, so far as they represent me attempting to live out my true ethical principles. And insofar as I’ll make mistakes in the future, it’s all good for the same reason.

At least I have a core principle that works for me, with no exceptions: that I do what I think is right, as best as I’m able to.

It feels good! And most importantly, living by first principles is a practice that has compound interest. When you “get on your feet” with first principles, it’s possible to soar way above the average level of ambition and do crazy amazing things. That is my theory anyway.

Follow me on Instagram
Join the Mailing List, 2-3 emails per month

Sort:  

It is great to see you write something from your heart.
This will help others; we share some beliefs, as I too live with less to live and grow and be creative.

Awesome Rebecca thanks I am trying to make the posts as relevant and honest to life right now as possible... no pretending to be cool :-P

When you get my age you will find you are cool enough and there is no need to pretend. Great job!

I think the biggest problem is a fear of making a change or doing what you want to do, not what you should do.
I mean yeah, not everyone can just do whatever the fuck they want because well, different countries, different circumstances.
But all in all, world would be a much happier place for all if all started caring more for their own happiness.

Fear and boredom are two big problems. One stops us from trying the important stuff, the other makes it hard to be patient and secure. Oof!

Sometimes I wonder if those in the first world have a small disadvantage in terms of achieving "true dreams." The quality of life is MUCH higher and life is easier, for sure, but these comforts drag people along... it's amazing how hard people find it to step away from the flow of purchases and consumerism that, by the time you're 35, lands you deep in debt with a house and car and family. Its insane.

I feel extraordinarily luckily to be on the slow path of life, no family or car or any of that, and able to "start again" at 27 rather than with a mid-life crisis at 45.

Thanks for your thoughts bro!

I agree, there are too many posibilities for some to handle, and too many "getaways" from the reality that makes life harder which is counterintuitive to some degree.

And yeah, it's so easy to fall in that pit of consumerism and spending money on shit you don't need.

I agree man, even though I sometimes feel my life is filled and busy, I'm actually quite aware of how happy I am because I don't have any real responsibilities to anyone but myself, and I'm glad that I know that while I'm 23 yo, and not 30 or 35.

Np mate, it was an interesting post ^^

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-0-0

Flagged for spam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56