You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can't see the forest for the trees when it comes to decision making

in #philosophy6 years ago

But we expect someone else to step up, we want them to take the blame. Most of us are raised to believe there's a safety net, that we're responsible sure, but you know, like in a game, not really. Especially if something bad happens. Then we really don't want to be responsible. And we scream and pout because the person we thought would step forward - our parent, spouse, boss, friend, whoever really - does not.

I think that's why many of us sink into depression, alcohol, drugs, whatever sort of escapism we can find - because we thought we knew what it meant to be responsible. And then we make the choice and wish to God there was someone else to take responsibility and there isn't and we can't bear it...:/

Sort:  

The feeling of responsibility is one that is foreign to most people which is why they involve others in decision-making I think. Not everyone, but many. It's comfortable to have a scape-goat in the advent that the decision doesn't harvest a a satisfactory result.

I learned early on in life that it's better to be responsible for my decisions than to find the safety-net of someone to blame for resulting problems. It's called ownership.

It's just part of human nature. At times situations are outside of our control and others within When I can influence something myself I leap at the chance. Leaders do. Followers do not. The world needs both. (I don't necessarily mean leaders of others...Leaders in ones' own life).

I think it's important that you learn this early in life, as you say you did, because I imagine that if you spend 30 years of your life (or 50 or whatever) involving others and blaming others, when the moment comes for you to learn this lesson, you just reject it, because your resolve's weakened, you've lived your whole life on someone else's shoulders.
And you can't just move unto your own - you haven't developed their ability to hold under pressure, to sustain the blame...

I'd rather stand, or fall, knowing I took the responsibility for my own actions and decisions.

One of the few good ones <3

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84