You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Values on life

in #philosophy6 years ago

First of all, I completely sympathize with your suggestion that fear of losing your child is very difficult, and can lead you to choose not to have more. Our second daughter has a terminal diagnosis, and though she is doing really well considering, she is likely to pass away well before I want.

Her situation is genetic, meaning that if my wife and I have more kids biologically, we may have another child with the same diagnosis... We want more kids but that is terrifying. We love our Lumina, and we would not surrender her, or turn her in, or give her up for anything, but having said that, if we could make her life Perfectly normal and healthy, we likely would. So yes, having kids is scary, because you could lose them, and that is a real concern even today; In every nation of the world.

Also I like that video you added, I randomly saw that the other day on Youtube, and was shocked but moved. That guy used to be a comedian on a TV show called Community, this is a strong divergence from that material.

Lastly, I agree that there are lots of kids who dont get the best of their parents, or for that matter, that dont get any parents, and I agree that is sad. This is why, when added to my wife and I's genetic concerns, we are considering adopting.

We want more kids, we have more love to give, we have more money to spend (not everyone does), and we know there are lots of kids with no parents, or bad parents, who we could help.

If you want more kids, and are concerned about biological difficulties, illnesses, or prenatal death, I'd recommend you consider adoption, we are.

As always thanks for the quality content.

Sort:  

I am sorry to hear that, that must be extremely hard. I can imagine but I don't think I can ever imagine it fully.

For us, it was complications with my wife. The doctors made some mistakes. Adoption is a possibility but it is a long process here and I am almost 40 after which it makes it even harder.

I think having children is somewhat of an overcoming of the self experience as responsibilities and targets shift so heavily. It isn't for everyone though.

Unfortuately, there is no way to save all the kids in the world know or in the near future but perhaps one day, there will be significant improvements. The world really could be amazing, with a little more care, compassion and a little less greed and self-maximization.

Thanks for taking the time, especially considering the content.

"there is no way to save all the kids in the world..."
Sadly I agree.

That's one of the reasons I am encouraged by my faith. My faith gives me hope, in that I have a promise that "He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the former things have passed away.” (Revelation 21:4)

Doesnt mean I have to be happy about the sadness, and loss I see and experience here. But it does give this assurance that no matter how tough, or how much loss we see in this world, that it isnt the end: justice will be had, peace will be felt.

Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63