Values on life

in #philosophy6 years ago

This is part of a discussion with loose theories and assumptions that I have been having with myself for a little while as I think about various aspects in consideration to the state of the world.

Viewer discretion is advised.

I have one child. Just one. She means the world to me. We won't be having another, even if we wanted to.

Before she was born I did some of my worst case scenario meditations to try to psychologically prepare myself for any eventuality. After she was born I have done more to include the new information and experiences I have had since. These have been the most uncomfortable of my thought processes I have done. There is only one thing worse than losing a child, losing more than one, just thinking about it is difficult.

I live in Europe and a country of peace, relative political stability, health care, social benefits, education and well, wealth. It is not that everyone in Finland is wealthy, until you compare them to the poorest countries on earth and the conditions some face every day. When my daughter was born, the risk of loss was very low (1.7/1000 births), as she grows, it is very likely to remain that way. But, that is not the same everywhere.

War, persecution, poverty, crime, violence, hunger and all I can imagine is, very little hope that the immediate future is going to be much different from the recent past. When children are born, the child mortality rate under 5 at its worst is 76.5/1000 births, source how many make it to adulthood?

Children are necessary, children are our future and in the poorest countries on earth where automation and education can be quite low, children are required to carry on the work of their parents. How many Finns are prepared these days to face a 7% chance of losing their child in the first 5 years? Yet, these people must, there is no choice and it is one of the reasons families have so many children, they already know that some are unlikely to survive to become productive, to carry on.

But, I wonder, how does this affect a family when the parents know that there are such high risks they must take, how does it affect the parent's role and willingness to invest into their children?

I am the fourth of five children, a large family by Australian standards but, I know that there were differences between being born first or second, or lower down the list. It is just fact in my family and is natural as even though our parents loved all of us, the resources available dwindled, including the time spent with each. What happens in a family of 10 or 12? I do not know, I can only assume it is similar.

I was listening to a podcast with a guy who spent a great deal of time living and learning from inner-city drug gangs in America and he mentioned that their value or, lack of value for life was much lower than the norm. even their own lives. They knew that not many made it to the top and it took Rep which meant, taking lives and once there, the money was high but, very few had a chance to retire before someone took their place by force. It meant that life was cheap to take with little room for remorse and, life was short so take all you can while you can.

What does this mean for the massive populations living in the poorest places day in day out when one of the richest countries on earth can't manage to control violence? And when they try, it often makes things worse. How with so few resources are they supposed to turn things around when they already have to accept the likely losses of their own children?

I wonder if when resources are already so low, how do people manage investing into the young minds of their future? What effects does that have on children as the develop considering nurture is likely the largest influence on a human. If one grows up with what would be considered loving parents that have the time, energy and resources to invest into their children, the chances of a better life experience for the child is significantly better. What chances are there for a child that doesn't receive adequate parental care?

There are massive inequalities in this world that cross many facets of life but, one of the largest is the opportunity for children to get their needs attended to from birth. Necessity of the parents can mean that they don't have time, energy or resources to raise their children even the way they want to raise them.

It is no wonder there are cycles of poverty and violence, no wonder that life has become cheap or worthless in some areas and no wonder that people have little hope for a better experience considering once trapped, there is almost no way out. It is a debt cycle of the most extreme case where people don't even have anything left to invest time into their own children.

I want to go more into some of these things but, I also feel that some are touchy areas, even approached with compassion. I want to look at some of the areas in more detail though considering the diversity of the audience, it can create tensions and emotional reactions. I don't know but, something has to change doesn't it? Talking about these things openly at all levels is necessary as it is up to us, we can't rely on an authority with an agenda.

This world and the communities within could all be in much better positions but, like all of history before, we have failed to target the right points, failed to improve where it mattered. Will it always be this way?

Comments welcome as always.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

Sort:  

You sound pretty negative about the future. I think the future could be worse than the present but it might be better. I think it will be better for me.

Hi taraz. Yes it is sad but these people from developing countries know no better. It is customary where I live that they have lots of children because they will be looked after in their old age. This is their pension as such. By doing this they are not learning and giving themselves a chance to improve. My government doesn't want to educate them because maybe they won't vote for them if they know the truth. Education is a huge risk and fear to them. Unfortunately in Africa the death rate with juveniles is very high and is not going to change anytime soon. The people in developed countries can't see the reasons behind it but it is mainly down to the leaders in the African countries not caring and only looking after their inner circles. Lots of aid is required to change the trend of child deaths but how much aid will get to where it needs to be.

Ther are so many reasons and it is complex to solve but, the main hurdles like anything in this world is Greed.

Lots of aid is required to change the trend of child deaths but how much aid will get to where it needs to be.

I am hoping blockchains can help in this area.

Never thought of that.

Good piece man. Greed by the select few govern the suffering of the dictated to.

It depends on us. The world can only get better when its people do. let's stop creating conditions that make it difficult for others to thrive and live their lives in peace. Let us stop piling up wealth we won't need, let us look beyond ourselves to the need of others. The world can become a better place. Sure it can!

First of all congratulations on your beautiful baby girl. She is adorable.
And I know how it feels to be a parent and the unconditional love we have for our children and we will do everything to protect them.

As for this world, I don't know what is going on and how we could have lost humanity and love and what is important to us.
I see this world very scary right now and my babies are teenager now, and I am afraid and worried daily when they are not home.
This world is not the same when I was growing up, not even close and I feel so sad for my kids that they will never be able to exerience that world.
It really feels scary all over the world right now with all this crime and the messed up governments. Poverty should not exist starvation should not exist, wars should not exist but we see it more and more of it.

I think it will not always be like this, but actually worse, which really, really scares me especially for my kids.

Anyways, that is how I feel, and I really appreciate your post about it.

Poverty should not exist starvation should not exist, wars should not exist but we see it more and more of it. I think it will not always be like this, but actually worse, which really, really scares me especially for my kids.

The reliance can't be on the governments, banks and corporations to make a difference, it has to be the people.

First of all, I completely sympathize with your suggestion that fear of losing your child is very difficult, and can lead you to choose not to have more. Our second daughter has a terminal diagnosis, and though she is doing really well considering, she is likely to pass away well before I want.

Her situation is genetic, meaning that if my wife and I have more kids biologically, we may have another child with the same diagnosis... We want more kids but that is terrifying. We love our Lumina, and we would not surrender her, or turn her in, or give her up for anything, but having said that, if we could make her life Perfectly normal and healthy, we likely would. So yes, having kids is scary, because you could lose them, and that is a real concern even today; In every nation of the world.

Also I like that video you added, I randomly saw that the other day on Youtube, and was shocked but moved. That guy used to be a comedian on a TV show called Community, this is a strong divergence from that material.

Lastly, I agree that there are lots of kids who dont get the best of their parents, or for that matter, that dont get any parents, and I agree that is sad. This is why, when added to my wife and I's genetic concerns, we are considering adopting.

We want more kids, we have more love to give, we have more money to spend (not everyone does), and we know there are lots of kids with no parents, or bad parents, who we could help.

If you want more kids, and are concerned about biological difficulties, illnesses, or prenatal death, I'd recommend you consider adoption, we are.

As always thanks for the quality content.

I am sorry to hear that, that must be extremely hard. I can imagine but I don't think I can ever imagine it fully.

For us, it was complications with my wife. The doctors made some mistakes. Adoption is a possibility but it is a long process here and I am almost 40 after which it makes it even harder.

I think having children is somewhat of an overcoming of the self experience as responsibilities and targets shift so heavily. It isn't for everyone though.

Unfortuately, there is no way to save all the kids in the world know or in the near future but perhaps one day, there will be significant improvements. The world really could be amazing, with a little more care, compassion and a little less greed and self-maximization.

Thanks for taking the time, especially considering the content.

"there is no way to save all the kids in the world..."
Sadly I agree.

That's one of the reasons I am encouraged by my faith. My faith gives me hope, in that I have a promise that "He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or mourning or crying or pain, for the former things have passed away.” (Revelation 21:4)

Doesnt mean I have to be happy about the sadness, and loss I see and experience here. But it does give this assurance that no matter how tough, or how much loss we see in this world, that it isnt the end: justice will be had, peace will be felt.

Thanks.

Your writing is awesome! 🖤

Your daughter looks so adorable. It's so sad that people have to face these sad situations. I believe we have an obligation towards the world, to make it a better place. With our efforts, the world will be a much better place.

A lot of needs aren't met by poor children because parents struggle with survival, and some even spend their money frivolously on self-gratification like alcohol, cigarettes, or other drugs or things that they don't need but want. Time isn't devoted to children too. Many work a lot to try to give their children a better financial future as well. It's complex indeed... The gangs are horrible places of "might makes right" stupidity that some turn to with absent parents in one way or another, even if the parents care and work their ass off, or dont and neglect them.

It is too understandable and very fragile this issue as this happens in many resource-limited countries where the whole area can not be covered and this type of problems can not be solved, it is very sad to see children dying from lack of attention or children passing by your entire days outside of a bakery or some supermarket, you need a big project at the world level with UNICEF to help the less developed countries to try to solve this kind of problems because they are losing the future they are the children or children are developing without education and values that are dedicated to evil, this must change and each of us should give that grain of sand starting with the developed countries, it's time to focus on the points that really matter

I live in a 3rd world country but live in the capital where life is a bit better but I have also lived in some of the poorer provinces where agriculture is the way of living.

A lot of parents would have sex because there is not much to do as well as the children they will have can be used to help in the farm.

It is a fact of life here and often times children only reach Grade 3 or 4 just to have the most basic knowledge of reading, writing, and arithmetic.

They would be expected to work after and continue the cycle of tilling the farm.
I am nt saying that being a farmer is a bad thing. It is a noble profession if done the right way.

If it is done because of servitude and not giving other opportunities then it is wrong,

In some bad parts a person could be stabbed for less than 5 dollars. The phrase life is cheap is most apparent in places of poverty.

For every bad part there are the good side of the coin.

I have seen parents who do everything they can, work multiple jobs, sell food or clothing just to send their kids to school and give them a better chance in life.

People who have little but share it to the community.

In the end it is people who would provide value to life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85