Defining Mental Bandwidth

in #philosophy5 years ago
I'm sure most people have heard the expression mental bandwidth a few times in their lives. The way that it's used is a bit comical because it tries to explain willingness to think about something, as a capacity to do so. In other words, the whole idea of want and will is conflated for the sake of a well established excuse.



source: Brainscape

"I would love to help you organize those papers, but I lack the mental bandwidth at the moment"

Curiously this reasoning is perfectly acceptable and anyone who is socially adept would not react with negativity to a friend or a family remember indisposing themselves due to bandwidth issues. After all, when the bandwidth that the Internet company promised is failing us, for whatever reason mind you, all the online activities get encumbered by connectivity inefficiencies, and somewhat subconsciously we equate both instances into the same category of events.

I should say that this particular observation, this mental tooling I'm attempting to provide to you my reader is something that I can only describe as an unpleasant truth, and if I'm to be honest, being ignorant of it is less emotionally compromising. I mean, think about it, the next time your husband, your wife or your significant other tells you they lack the mental bandwidth, you will know, without an inch of doubt, they've erected a house of cards to shield them from having to do something.

This reminds me of a somewhat bitter thought that entered my mind a long time ago. Funnily enough, this childhood thought, this personal discovery was many years later, the centerpiece of a movie: The invention of lying. Not that I would recommend it as a film or anything, but the social implications, the social critiques, and the parody it makes of our idea good manners is in my opinion something worth some mental bandwidth to continue with my theme here.

I realize I've placed the bishop in a precarious position and it might take down your emotional queen, but if you've read this far I suspect the exploration has been one in the name of curiosity, and at least in that front the game has been enriching. I should say that the one outcome I'm not rooting for is to give anyone reasons to argue over these accepted social excuses, I certainly think a confrontation over something as abstract as mental bandwidth has absolutely no winners, but it's kind of fun, at least to me, as an observant of humanity to identify the cleverly disguised lies and excuses that allow us to surf in calm waters.

"Can we talk about this later... I don't have the mental bandwidth for this right now..."

"Sure, no problem... "


View this post on Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

Sort:  

So it basically sums up as an excuse to not perform a task in a more refined way... right? There are always moments that we need to learn to say no as well as overwhelming someone with various tasks could results in not performing in any one of them. Deciding what not to do is as important as deciding what to do... right Steemit, Inc.?

Posted using Partiko iOS

yes!! hahahhah very much so my friend

I agree that the way most people use it is comical, but when you actually do run out, or get close to running out it is a horrible feeling. Case in point, I've got 3 projects written in QT, one in Meteor (web app frame work), PHP based apis that are being reworked, lesson plans to create and execute, game projects that require all my skill sets including learning a new scripting language or two. Not to mention trying to find clients and work on projects with other people and manage house hold stuff. So you know, lot of balls in the air.

Just the other day I tried to add a 4th project, this one written in GTK (something I've never done before)... and I can't. My brain will not transfer what I read into working knowledge to code the interface. The code isn't hard, there is no reason why I shouldn't get it and be able to just DO THE WORK. I just can't. Believe you me, it has shaken me a bit.

Remember dial up lol that’s my bandwidth right now

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't have the mental bandwidth to understand what you're saying. Let's talk about this later.

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe: automatically support your favourite steem authors :) | For investors.

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

I think anyone’s mental bandwidth would beat my internet speed lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30