Inconsistencies, tomatoes and steem

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)


I guess this is another entry on my weird philosophical crypto vlogs for a common Sunday. Being just a few days away from getting to meet so many steemians face to face, where I'm sure many mini debates will happen, has sparked this particular subject.

As always these videos are just a way for me to spark conversation, so by all means, disagree with me if you wish, or let me know if you got more insight on the subject too.

Much love my friends

@meno


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This post has received a 5.00% upvote from @kennybrown!



Want more views to reach your posts? Try BlockGators Army Advertising Network

If you like what I do please consider delegating 100+ steempower to @kennybrown. If you would like to join you can also send 2 Steem to @kennybrown for a 30-day subscription. All revenue will be used to increase the steempower on a monthly basis.

tomatoes are very acidic. i cant eat a lot of cooked tomatoes tho im fine with fresh salsa, go figure. i dont like pizza much for that reason. but food is not ideas nor logic.

ideas that are contradictory are much bigger than the inconsistencies and simplicity of tomato sensitivities. people get fixed on an ideal, and fight to the death for it without realizing they haven't thought about the logic behind it. they fight for a person who says he wants freedom, yet acts in a way that takes that freedom away from others, just on the grounds of us versus them. so the concept of freedom is then tainted. freedom for who?

we need to think ideals and words through. people often become convinced of the rightness of their own world view and dont allow that there can be many world views that are "right". it comes down to definition. what is freedom? how do we take our freedom without hindering another persons?

for instance pro-life. whose life is more important, the mothers or the childs? at what point? because if you force a mother into having a child, you take away her freedom. if you force a child to be born, yet then dont care for its health, education and welfare, right there you curtail its freedom, because you put the child at risk of disease and limit its ability to compete and thrive. if you are anti abortion but pro war, you arent really pro life.

if you dare to point out inherent contradictions to idealistic people, you can and will be shouted down because you are challenging world view, and must therefore be for the side of evil. as soyrosa said, things are never black and white, but people insist on fighting like they are. the biggest step is to teach people to think logically.

again i come back to this: school. education should start with critical thinking and logic. yet I believe that government is against this. there is nothing worse than a peon who questions authority and challenges the status quo.

Absolutely brilliant Torico!!! hahahahah I loved it...

again i come back to this: school. education should start with critical thinking and logic. yet I believe that government is against this. there is nothing worse than a peon who questions authority and challenges the status quo.

This really wraps everything up into a chaotic system I have to say...

I don't think I could add anything to what Torico has already said here.

Many arguments are fought too much black and white. What people might mean versus what they say is very much different.

"I'm pro-life, so I'm anti-abortion!" <> "I'm pro capital punishment"
What they might mean is: babies shouldn't be killed, they are (still) innocent, but adults who have proven to have done wrong can be punished.

What I personally mean when I say I don't like tomatoes (and I say that! Often!) is: "I don't like raw/uncooked tomatoes. I do like tomatoes when they are 'prepared' in any way, like cooked, baked, processed into Ketchup, or fermented. I *love 'em as a sauce on my oven-baked Pizza."

I'm afraid we're living in a Twitter society where we want to have short and simple, not elaborate and nuanced. It's actually what I'm most appalled by when I look at many of the arguments happening in the US and some other places in the world right now. It's black versus white, it's 'blue' versus 'red', and all other nuance has left the conversation, all the grey has gone from all discussion. But in the grey we can find out basically everything about a persons beliefs and thinking. Not in the black, not in the white, those are just the end-results - like a painting you see in a Museum but haven't seen the process, tools, education, costs, accidents, drafts of. How can you value that without all that knowledge?

So yes, we are often very inconsistent in our claims and one-liners, but only if you dumb down/flatten everything we say. If you really listen, and look for the whole argument we might discover there's huge consistency present in most people.

Many arguments are fought too much black and white. What people might mean versus what they say is very much different.

Well said Rosa, you might be right on point here, is the lack of nuance in many situations, but in others there is also inconsistency.

Because you are a thinker Rosa, you tend to think that others have done this mental work too... but I've asked for reasoning plenty of times and not gotten any. That is a compliment to you btw...

However, your observations are right on.

Ah, you might be right there in return @meno, lol. See how we all have blind spots? I appreciate the compliment I got out if it ;-)

When people realize that they are hypocrites, they will stop investing so much time and energy into most of their beliefs. I don't think it is possible to rid yourself of inconsistencies, people should just realize that they are there; even within their most passionate ideals. Just the realization of your own hypocrisy can do wonders for how you speak to others.

I could say something simple like "I love hot weather" yet would I be willing to swim inside boiling water? By saying no, I am a hypocrite. The problem is when people try to become to fixated on trying to be consistent that they actually become dumber and ignorant. Spending hours formulating their opinion in the most refined way where they can't see the inconsistency, yet for a bystander, is very simple to see.

I always hated tomatoes growing up, but I loved pizza, tomato soup and ketchup. I'm content with being a hypocrite and not needing to refine my opinion. I don't need to stress out over finding a new opinion that is consistent because a lot of times it is just time-consuming and not worth the effort unless the opinion changes naturally.

no doubt any obsession leaning to any extreme is bad, so i pretty much agree with your call for balance.

This post has received a 5.00% upvote from @aiyanna!

This is an extra way we have decided to give back and award serious bloggers!

Feel free to leave a comment or suggestion to improve the efforts of this bot. Delegation and donations will be used to increase steem power.

This post has received a 15.00% upvote from @teevmoore!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01