You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inconsistencies, tomatoes and steem

in #philosophy6 years ago

Many arguments are fought too much black and white. What people might mean versus what they say is very much different.

"I'm pro-life, so I'm anti-abortion!" <> "I'm pro capital punishment"
What they might mean is: babies shouldn't be killed, they are (still) innocent, but adults who have proven to have done wrong can be punished.

What I personally mean when I say I don't like tomatoes (and I say that! Often!) is: "I don't like raw/uncooked tomatoes. I do like tomatoes when they are 'prepared' in any way, like cooked, baked, processed into Ketchup, or fermented. I *love 'em as a sauce on my oven-baked Pizza."

I'm afraid we're living in a Twitter society where we want to have short and simple, not elaborate and nuanced. It's actually what I'm most appalled by when I look at many of the arguments happening in the US and some other places in the world right now. It's black versus white, it's 'blue' versus 'red', and all other nuance has left the conversation, all the grey has gone from all discussion. But in the grey we can find out basically everything about a persons beliefs and thinking. Not in the black, not in the white, those are just the end-results - like a painting you see in a Museum but haven't seen the process, tools, education, costs, accidents, drafts of. How can you value that without all that knowledge?

So yes, we are often very inconsistent in our claims and one-liners, but only if you dumb down/flatten everything we say. If you really listen, and look for the whole argument we might discover there's huge consistency present in most people.

Sort:  

Many arguments are fought too much black and white. What people might mean versus what they say is very much different.

Well said Rosa, you might be right on point here, is the lack of nuance in many situations, but in others there is also inconsistency.

Because you are a thinker Rosa, you tend to think that others have done this mental work too... but I've asked for reasoning plenty of times and not gotten any. That is a compliment to you btw...

However, your observations are right on.

Ah, you might be right there in return @meno, lol. See how we all have blind spots? I appreciate the compliment I got out if it ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63423.66
ETH 3077.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87