Social Risk, exposing inadequaciessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

It's funny how sometimes small sentences, simple ideas, have the magical ability to evolve into complex thoughts. I mean, when I first read the sentence, I didn't think much of it, but as time progressed today and the mundane activity in front of me blurred into droning, the concept started to become clearer and clearer.

A quick post written by Dan, that if you blinked for a nanosecond too much, you may have missed it, has been making rounds in my head all day and cemented itself in relevance as I started to remember how I got started on this platform too, as I started to remember "my risk".


img src

Risk, what risk?

I really had to think about this one, and attempt to bring my mind back to my early days on this very blockchain. You see, these days, it's a lot easier for me to think of someone with no stake, someone who has not invested a penny into this platform, as someone that has absolutely no risk, but that's because I never thought of flipping the picture on it's head.

I should start with one simple fact about me. I, Like many others, did not buy STEEM right away after joining, I was hesitant, I did not know if this whole crypto thing was even real and I needed to double check, I needed to make sure I could turn the magical internet money into something I could spend before putting a single cent in.

But it's not necessarily true to say that I was not risking something by joining, by writing things about myself on this blog or by participating on the openmic contest, of course not. I, like many others, decided to wager my sense of self worth in the hopes that I would find a receptive warm audience. I say wager because of the element of uncertainty.

You see, for plenty of content creators, the work they put into their blogs and videos, regardless of the type of content, is work that is connected to their ideas of self identify and self worth. This means as you might imagine, that the risk of being rejected or ignored, is very real and can have an emotional cost that of course is not quite measurable with metrics.

I've seen plenty of people say that they prefer acknowledgement, meaning interactions, over ghost upvotes that could just as well be delivered by a bot. These comments are without a doubt, a manifestation of the fear of loss, expectations not met.

What if I suck?

I suspect that plenty of people ask themselves this very question every single day on STEEM and I'm in no way shape or form making light of their situation.

We have to admit that for those of us who have been here a while, for those of us who have a floor level of support, the notions that we are terrible at this whole "steem thing" have long abandoned the building. I mean, this is not to say we don't have strikes and gutters, but overall, every time we shoot we hit something. This however is not the case for thousands of users every single day.

I also suspect that there is a considerable amount of people who have quit, not because they "didn't make enough", but because they felt as if they were singing to an empty bar, and the emotional toll of feeling inadequate was a little too much for them, and there, in that special detail lies this idea of risk.

What's the solution?

It's so obvious and so talked about, that this particular reflection of mine is going to seem to fall short, but there is no other way to end this post. The solution is improving curation, and supporting curation initiatives more aggressively.

Projects like @c-squared, @curie and fundamental in balancing this whole thing, and a conversation on how we can create curation more enticing to stake holders should never be off the table, because that has to be the way we drive this home.

As I said, after a whole day ruminating on the word "risk" as it pertains to content creators, I'm trying to not only let the lesson sink into my mind, but also make it a point to do my part to make someone's experience a little better, a little more welcoming.

Sort:  

Hey @meno, life is so much about taking risks, it is the only way to really step out and grow. Thanks for transferring this thinking to me. I am going to think of this all day now, haha.

You are more than welcome

Posted using Partiko Android

must say that after year + here half of the time that is the feeling. and i was lucky to find supporting people in my early days.

Posted using Partiko Android

And I'm sure it made all the difference to you, right?

Posted using Partiko Android

sure did. would probably not still be here. the feeling that you belong is important.

Posted using Partiko Android

So far I have not found an article that discusses the main factors causing the "fall in the price of STEEM".

a few days I invited several people (legislators in Aceh) to buy Steem.

so they asked about it, and it was really confusing for the answers I had to give.

because crypto is very different from the economic concepts that I learned on campus.

I really hope someone will write about it 👏👏

It's actually quite simple to explain, everything follows Bitcoin, absolutely everything. So, when Bitcoin is down from almost 20,000 to 3000 then all the other coins go down too, some even more aggressively as people prefer to hold on to Bitcoin

Posted using Partiko Android

It would be an interesting project to see what impact increasing curation rewards would have on engagement in general as it further diversifies the reward pool. However, given the recent discussions on how authors are reviewing a reduction in reward for the Worker Proposal System, I would think there would be some push back as well.

Posted using Partiko iOS

i think plenty of people would pitchfork, but there are some examples out there to look into... i believe smoke.io does 50/50 - it would be interesting to study how its working out for them.

I've seen plenty of people say that they prefer acknowledgement, meaning interactions, over ghost upvotes that could just as well be delivered by a bot.

I would rather have more comments then higher payouts, I love talking and discussing topics with people! Especially when it comes to my ideas and ideals! I like seeing what other people thing! Connect with other people! Maybe learn something new...

Projects like @c-squared, @curie and fundamental in balancing this whole thing, and a conversation on how we can create curation more enticing to stake holders should never be off the table, because that has to be the way we drive this home.

At first I too thought "What if I suck?" I was afraid of posting, i triple checked everything I wrote, even comments, always afraid of everything, and even after posting I was worried... What got me over that fear was at first @curie! I got a huge upvote from them when I first started and I was astonished! Someone liked my content! After it I decided to go to SteemStem since i like science so much, the first post was not the best, but I talked to the mods over there and got my posts a lot better! So I started getting upvotes from SteemStem, the science community of Steem, a community where the curators were mainly people from science backgrounds, people with Phds... I felt like I got "a seal of approval"! After this, the fact that I developed so many "social connections" with other Steemians also got me over that fear! Connections that even after not posting for 6 months people still remembered me when i came back! that is what got me over the fear of "What if I suck?"... And if I do suck... who cares xD Let the haters do their thing, a man that has no enemies probably isn't successful!

Excellent comment brother... and you basically prove my point! :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17