You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: PERSISTENCE

in #philosophy5 years ago

I think you have kind of hit the nail on the head. Life is so unfair. The belief that life is fair can be such a trap! I used to get mad at such silly things like the fact that my cousin was better looking than me. I would get so depressed because he would get all the girls when we would go out together.

In hindsight it seems kind of silly. In reality he always ended up with really shallow women, and I have a life partner. The point is, quite often in life we think we know what we need and want - but we may be completely off track.

The thing I like a lot about certain Eastern philosophies is that they take a very pragmatic and practical approach to life. For instance, the Buddha wasn't a religious figure, he was a guy trying to figure out why everything sucked so much. (They made it into a religion later) He realized that the key to happiness is the understanding that everything is impermanent. But on the deepest levels of your being.

It's this constant grasping that makes us miserable. So really, the trick is to find a middle way. A balance. And that is what can take a lifetime to come to terms with!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this. I'm just seeing this now by the way. Well, I believe balance is everything. We should have a balanced view of things and stop wishful thinking. Only lazy people wish for things they cannot afford.

I believe in miracle but I will be damned if I expected one to happen every now and then.

Posted using Partiko Android

that is what can take a lifetime to come to terms with

It sure can!

I had similar experiences to your cousin one. My sister and friend would always have the men swarming around them. I met my husband at 17 and about 7 years later I wondered if I had missed out not having experienced a few more relationships. Then I realised all that I'd missed was bouncing from one bad relationship to another and not having a supportive partner. I feel sad for them looking back now, but at the time it seemed like they were having all the fun. I guess that was the extent of my seven year itch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63572.52
ETH 3097.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88