PERSISTENCE

in #philosophy5 years ago

sunset-100367_1280.jpg

The concept of hope is not one that appeals to me much these days. With a chain of sad events that have occurred in my life, I cannot be blamed for my pessimistic approach to life. Life is unfair. And I think the more I accept this reality, the easier it becomes to accept disappointments.

The idea of hope, for many, stems of baseless expectation of future bliss. Most people hope that their fortunes will change without even considering their reality or ability to bring about the required change they need. This has created an avenue for miscreants to pillage the scarce resources of many. In this part of the world where I come from, most people rather spend hours in a spiritual place of worship praying and hearing words of inspiration than putting those hours into something meaningful so that their hopes and dreams can become a reality. They believe that their lives will change overnight if they dedicate their time and resource to a God whom they think is oblivious of their laziness.

I might just be making a case against lazy people, but how about the strong-willed-- those who are putting in the required effort to see that their work amounts to something in life. It is quite unfortunate but they are confronted with the same reality. Although their chances of succeeding are greater, nothing in is guaranteed. Many people are not conscious of this fact and when reality sets in, as it always will, these set of persons fall into a deep depression. I don't blame them though. It all stems from the type of orientation they have about life. Plus, your favorite motivational speaker will not earn anything tangible for himself if he told you that life is a 50-50 chance. Everyone wants to believe they can succeed and what better way to affirm those expectations than hearing those exact words from someone else.

If nothing is guaranteed then what's the essence of trying?

I live with this awareness that life owes me nothing and it can be very unfair sometimes. Just the mere thought of it can cripple one's will to succeed in life. Nevertheless, I keep pushing. I don't know, maybe the thought of defeat rattles me even more than my fears. The thought of just being suck in one place--a place where I do not desire, is a more damning fate than the harsh reality of life.

I wake up every day knowing I have a fighting chance despite the odds against me. Maybe you will classify this as hope and maybe you're right and indeed I am hopeful to an extent, that I will gain something tangible out of life in exchange of my time and effort. I do not believe that life owes me anything but that does not kill my exceptions because I'm alive and breathing, striving for a better life for myself and the people I love

It has taken and will still take some hard knocks but that's just life for you. Failing is inevitable but being a failure or succumbing to defeat is not an option I'm willing to take. I pick myself up after every failed attempt at my goal and try again.

The basic thing I want you all to grasp today is that your dreams might not be the only motivating factor that keeps you going in difficult times. Sometimes, like in my case, the mere thought of giving up can spur you into action. It is like one of those epic scenes in a movie, where a warrior, after being battered--at the point of death, summons the strength to fight fearlessly even though he knows that he will never survive the battle. That I-won't-go-down-without-a-fight kind of attitude is what keeps me going.

You don't need a dreamy view of the future to motive yourself. Everything might be dark and scary but you doggedness and stubborn approach to life can make the experience a worthy one. Also, no one will condemn you for not trying because you did. You gave and still give your best. That's what makes the difference in life. Persist.

©nonsowrites


Image source: https://pixabay.com/photo-100367/


Original post by me, also posted here

Sort:  

I've found that hoping seems to lead to disappointment more often than not. Although, there's a little something true in the saying "Hope for the best, but prepare for the worst."

I know a lot of motivators will say you should picture yourself achieving what you want, but I've always advised my girls to work hard and put in the effort and do your best, but don't expect too much, when they've competed in dancing or gymnastics. That way if they don't win anything they aren't disappointed, but if they do, then it's a wonderful surprise and all the more special.

Nothing is guaranteed in life, no matter how hard you work at it, but if you do nothing at all then the you can guarantee there will be no result. Keep being a fighter, my friend.

Posted using Partiko Android

We should not expect too much from life like you said because nothing is guaranteed. This is the best way to live.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the issue. I appreciate.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think you have kind of hit the nail on the head. Life is so unfair. The belief that life is fair can be such a trap! I used to get mad at such silly things like the fact that my cousin was better looking than me. I would get so depressed because he would get all the girls when we would go out together.

In hindsight it seems kind of silly. In reality he always ended up with really shallow women, and I have a life partner. The point is, quite often in life we think we know what we need and want - but we may be completely off track.

The thing I like a lot about certain Eastern philosophies is that they take a very pragmatic and practical approach to life. For instance, the Buddha wasn't a religious figure, he was a guy trying to figure out why everything sucked so much. (They made it into a religion later) He realized that the key to happiness is the understanding that everything is impermanent. But on the deepest levels of your being.

It's this constant grasping that makes us miserable. So really, the trick is to find a middle way. A balance. And that is what can take a lifetime to come to terms with!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this. I'm just seeing this now by the way. Well, I believe balance is everything. We should have a balanced view of things and stop wishful thinking. Only lazy people wish for things they cannot afford.

I believe in miracle but I will be damned if I expected one to happen every now and then.

Posted using Partiko Android

that is what can take a lifetime to come to terms with

It sure can!

I had similar experiences to your cousin one. My sister and friend would always have the men swarming around them. I met my husband at 17 and about 7 years later I wondered if I had missed out not having experienced a few more relationships. Then I realised all that I'd missed was bouncing from one bad relationship to another and not having a supportive partner. I feel sad for them looking back now, but at the time it seemed like they were having all the fun. I guess that was the extent of my seven year itch!

Sometimes it is more about managing expectations of ones life rather than hope. I have found that even when you achieve goals, they are sometimes not fulfilling as we tend to give importance to the things that society says instead of looking inward and truly feeling what is important.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sometimes it is more about managing expectations of ones life rather than hope

I think that is the path I am on presently. I want to be present and not live in the past or future, hoping things will be better without making any effort to seeing that it becomes a reality-- my dreams.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sometimes it is more about managing expectations of ones life rather than hope

I think that is the path I am on presently. I want to be present and not live in the past or future, hoping things will be better without making any effort to seeing that it becomes a reality-- my dreams.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

BETA Feature

Congratulations nonsowrites, you upvoted 1000 posts via the @share2steem Curation Trails !

You reached LVL 3 and earned 0.04 SBD !
Move to LVL 4 by upvoting 2000 posts !

!tipuvote 0.04

Check the achievements list on https://share2steem.com !

This message is generated automatically.

This post is supported by $0.04 @tipU upvote funded by @share2steem :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94