You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Letting Go of What's Beyond Our Control.

in #philosophy5 years ago

The only real control we have in our lives is how we choose to live within these confines.

Couldn't agree more. And yes, we have to let go of that control too. I remember when my husband was basically SCREAMING at what was happening in Syria - he was getting really upset and depressed about it. I had to tell him to stop reading about it because nothing he learnt or read would help anyone - and he was causing himself such undue suffering it was going to impact those around him (namely, me, as he shouted at the telly). Thank god he listened. It's not that we should turn a blind eye, and we can do what we can (he needs to get his citizenship so he can vote here, for one) but it's more about what we CAN do to affect change rather than feel that awful loss of control that causes us and others suffering. A great response. xx

Sort:  

Those sorts of things used to keep me awake at night. It's why I don't go out to watch the news now. If it's important enough to be relevant to a conversation, I'll look it up or hear it from a friend. Sometimes they laugh at me being completely out of the loop, but it's how I cope.

I’m aware these things happen, but I can't focus on them too much, because I can't control them. Because I don't watch MSM, I'm more able to find out other perspectives many don't see which are more likely to offer a chance for me to do something productive.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59740.56
ETH 3011.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79