Relational Quantum Mechanics Solution for the Paradox of the Ship of Theseus with a touch of Zen and Cryptocurrency

in #philosophy6 years ago

I've had my answer for  Ship of Theseus paradox and many of The Zeno’s Paradoxes. There is also a Modern variation of the same paradox called the grandfather's axe. First of all let's take a look at what this paradox is. I'll let you enjoy a great scene from the amazing cult classic John Dies at the End explain the question.

I haven't really studied what other people had to say about the paradox. My answer comes purely out of my own understanding of philosophy, spirituality and QM. If I be more specific, Relational quantum mechanics. I'm not a real physicist. I'm just a smart kid with self education on the internet. I'll let you have a look at my favorite Quantum Mechanic Basics video. It's a 1 hour  Google Tech Talk and it's worth every single minute of it.

 Two monks were arguing about a flag. One said, "The flag is moving." The other said, "The wind is moving." The sixth patriarch, Zeno, happened to be passing by. He told them, "Not the wind, not the flag. Mind is moving." 

The above is from the ending of the following pdf:http://www.flownet.com/ron/QM.pdf

I'd also leave a link to one of the most profound pdf files to ever grace the internet here: http://web.pdx.edu/~pmoeck/lectures/mermin_amjphys1998.pdf

Now let's take a look at the paradox. 

 Correlations have physical reality; that which
they correlate does not. 

The above is a quote from  N. David Mermin which very well sums up my view on reality. The best analogy for reality I've come across is the dictionary. When thinking about the nature of the reality/universe try to picture the mechanics of a dictionary. It could help you guide through my writings. I mostly live inside my own head. So communication isn't my most developed skill. I'll try to be as clear as possible.

 A Dictionary is a tangle of words and definitions. It's a web of correlationships, But only those correlationships are objectively true. There is no origin point of meaning. A is A because it's called A. I think I am; Therefor I am

 Truth is twin layered. There is objective truth as well as subjective truth. A mirage exist and doesn't exist at the same time just as there is no "You" even though "You" exist. The same can be said about a pen or pencil.

Think about the chicken-egg dilemma. Linear logic is hopeless. So what exactly came first? One truth is that there is really no answer to the question. It's fairly evident to anybody who is reading. But there is also an objective truth: It's just a correlation that's not different from 2 sides of a scale but this time separated through time. If the Sun goes AWOL it'll take us roughly 8 mins to know that it's gone. But the Fate of the Earth was set the moment the Sun disappeared as the Fate of the left side of the scale was set in correlation to the movement of the right side.

Chicken-egg dilemma is a correlationship that was misunderstood due to being separated through time. There is really no chicken or an egg. There is simply a phenomenon or a process. 

Not too long ago there were scientists talked and researched and wrote about Luminiferous aether which allowed light to travel through empty space. The entire concept was a mess created through false premises that lead to search a hypothetical medium that allowed the light to travel through space. These days we don't even talk about these things. We need to think different and think simple.

 Fields in empty space have physical reality; the medium that supports them does not. 

In the same manner,

 Correlations have physical reality; that which they correlate does not. 

This is where the 2 truths come from. There is the truth of Correlations such as a Father isn't a Mother and 2+2=4 These things are real. But where does this reality originate from? That is the truth of correlata. If you change the language, all the talks about mothers and fathers become gibberish. V+V=X

Don't over think it. You don't cure depression by thinking about it. You don't forget something or go to sleep through trying. Don't go asking whether the chicken came first or whether the egg came first. If you are asking whether it's the same axe or same ship, you are overthinking it based on false assumptions. __Don't look above and beyond. Instead look deep within and deconstruct.__ Only the phenomenon of an axe or pencil is real. You can sail with a ship or write with a pencil. You see the mirage. This is __real__. And that's it. There is nothing beyond it. There are the connections but not the connected.

Each word in the dictionary has a definition. Each word is defined by other words. Words have meanings in relation to other words and in relation to other words only.

 It's a web of correlationships, But only those correlationships are objectively true. There is no origin point of meaning. A is A because it's called A. I think I am; Therefor I am.If you take the above statement as true, you'd have to accept 2 layers of truths.
#1 A is A. Period.
#2__There is no real meaning to A.__
A dictionary is a meaningless book containing objective meanings (as in A Tiger isn't a Hippo and hitting someone's crotch isn't a way to greet someone) 

There was never a  Ship of Theseus. The entire paradox is arisen due to a false premise of an origin point of a non-linear process. Like the value of a cryptocurrency is merely within the utility/functionality, a ship is a process; not a thing. Neither the Ship nor the Cryptocurrency is real. They simply have a real functionality.

( I don't agree with the explanation in the video. But the parable itself is really great. )

 In reference to the seen, there will be only the seen.
In reference to the heard, only the heard.
In reference to the sensed, only the sensed.
In reference to the cognized, only the cognized.
-https://accesstoinsight.org/tipitaka/kn/ud/ud.1.10.than.html

"What is the All? Simply the eye & forms, ear & sounds, nose & aromas, tongue & flavors, body & tactile sensations, intellect & ideas. This, monks, is called the All. Anyone who would say, 'Repudiating this All, I will describe another,' if questioned on what exactly might be the grounds for his statement, would be unable to explain, and furthermore, would be put to grief. Why? Because it lies beyond range."
-https://www.accesstoinsight.org/tipitaka/sn/sn35/sn35.023.than.html 

You can follow the links for the Buddhist Sutras for further reading. I'll leave with a one final  profound quote to inspire the thinker in you.

 As I have grown older, I have come more and more to the conclusion that there is no teaching in physics, there is only inspiration to learn. ... The teacher may stimulate the mind of the student... but the journey to that goal must be made by the student himself. W. F. G. Swann, ‘‘The Teaching of Physics,’’ Am. J. Phys. 19~3!, 182–187 ~1951!. 

(Special thanks to @erh.germany for stimulating the discussion that led me to write this post)

Sort:  

@vimukthi,

Salutations! JaiChai here.

Yet another thought provoking post. Cool. Very cool.

Your Post triggered these thoughts:

Dostoyevsky terrorizing his brother by saying, "Don't think of that blood-thirsty polar bear out there."

If an old tree falls down in the woods and there's no one to hear it, is it still a rotten dead plant?

"Reality" - what a concept!

Have a great day, amigo.

Namaste,

JaiChai

It's like a mirror. You need actually need 2 elements: The mirror and an object.
Words need other words to define them.
That is why Relational quantum mechanics is an interpretation of quantum mechanics which treats the state of a quantum system as being observer-dependent

Without other words, no word has meaning. Sight & sound are phenomenons like mirages. They don't exist; only the effects does.

Coming from a highly analytical mind... Well written out article. I enjoyed reading this. Thanks!


Your post has been resteemed to my 2500 followers

Upvote this comment if you like this service

you are welcome! Thank you for mentioning me, I feel honored.

I appreciate "talking" to you though you are not easy to follow - in thinking about a reply to your recent feedback to me, I haven't finished and then by accident closed my translating window. No all is gone. And I cracked my head before everything what I've written changed into air.

Well, let go of it. Will come back or not - either way will be okay. ;-)

I am happy for your high voted posts and congratulate you!
Greetings, Erika

Next time try typing on steemit and cut & paste on the translator. It should save you some trouble.
I just used minnowbooster for a $47.8 upvote. My logic was that people (especially minnows) would tend to upvote recent posts with few dollars on the payout. It turned out to be correct.

thx, for sure, that is the better way:)

HeHe, the market right now is going insane!

I just cleared out my account and exchanged it for steem. This has just doubled the value of my account and I've almost reached the 1000 mark, which I would have thought would take another six months to complete. Crazy crypto world.

You have been voted by @trafalgar and I was happy that you are supported. I then went to his blog and saw that he writes interesting and rebellious articles. It is fascinating to see how one can go on a search for clues and be washed from one to the next.

High addictive potential, I'd say. Always important to keep one more foot on the ground. I'm saying that to myself right now.

You seem to be promoting some form of idealism based in principles of Eastern philosophy/religion. I don't know what my stance is, exactly, but I doubt I'll end up being an idealist.

What if I said that, yes, everything exists in the mind, but that mind is the mind of God? Would that count as idealism? We call God's opinions "truth," his thought process "logic," and his will "reality." That's a theory, anyway.

I'll try to address the Ship of Theseus (& the axe). I think that physical reality actually exists, but distinctions between physical bodies is a division made only in the mind. That is, a chair is not a distinct physical entity (it doesn't have a pure, pre-existing, metaphysical form, as Plato would suggest). A chair is a select collection of atoms, indistinguishable from all the other atoms, except that humans create the division, since it is practical.

As for the chicken and the egg, this really is no paradox. One's answer would depend on their scientific-historic position. I would answer that the chicken came first, because God created the first chicken. Easy.

Speaking of the æther, I would point out that it is not entirely abandoned by modern scientists. Some scientists still believe in the æther. Those who believe in Special Relativity have found the need to replace the æther with a similar structure. At some time in the distant future, I intend to conduct an iquiry into all these theories to determine a correct theory of the Universe. I'll be reading books like The Need for Speed (C): The Quantum Effects of an Elastic-Solid Aether and Ether Space-Time & Cosmology Volumes 1-3.

Unfortunately, I don't know that much about Quantum Physics, etc. I'll learn about that in the future, too.

Congratulations @vimukthi, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3130 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $3634.22. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

@vimukthi, you just received an upvote powered by smartsteem. Our goal is to support quality posts and authors on steem.

Everyone is invited to be a part of and to join the smartsteem community: https://smartsteem.com

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

iNTRO pIC-01.jpg

This post was resteemed & upvoted by @superbot - the Best Resteem bot on Planet !
Good Luck!

Follow for 10 minutes ,
Send 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo that you want resteemed and upvoted.

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With Superbot

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03