A nice spot to sit but...

in #photocircle5 years ago

A nice spot to sit but...

Good day everyone for today's post I will share a photo of what looks like a nice spot to sit and relax on 49th Street in Manhattan, but...

1 A nice spot to sit but.jpg

Sony A7iii 39mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 500
Click here to view larger


Walking down 3rd ave I think it was as I was approaching 49th Street I see this little set of Benches and flowers and thought that's a nice little spot if people get tired walking around the city and need to rest their legs a bit but when I looked closer I noticed some signs on the benches

1 A nice spot to sit but-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 69mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger


Then I noticed each of the 6 Benches in this spot had little signs on it, so I went to take a look what they said often the signs on benches in the city may say who donated the benches, but this was not the case here as you can see.

I seem to notice these days there are so many more signs telling us what we cannot do and too few telling us what we can do, is it a sign of today's society.
That said I often see people having to live on the street sleeping on benches or sidewalks, and perhaps the owner of the area does not want that outside their business,

Even with the cold spell, we are having at the moment I still see people sleeping on the street in well below freezing temperatures, and feel so for those that for whatever reason are in a position that they have to sleep on the street, and do pray and hope they can find a way to get themselves of the street.

I know in both NYC and where I live there are homeless shelters that people can go to so they can get out of the cold especially at night, but all of those also have rules and some people on the street do not wish to abide by the rules but I do feel its a sad state of the world with all the money that is spent on so-called defense or military spending and other craziness that more could not be spent for supporting and getting people off the street and helping them with the issues they are dealing with, and or on medical research.

but enough of a vent from me onto the next sign.

.

1 A nice spot to sit but-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 69mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 1600
Click here to view larger


The next sign as you can see said no littering, one which I agree with, in NYC on just about every corner are rubbish bins so I do find it annoying when I asee people walking down the street people just drop there trash on the street, is it really that hard to carry it half a block and drop it in a rubbish bin.

1 A nice spot to sit but-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 69mm F8 1/60 Sec ISO 2000
Click here to view larger


And the final sign says No Loitering, I always wonder what exactly that means I know the definition is to stand or wait around idly or without apparent purpose so if you sit on this bench and just relax how long can you sit there before it is considered loitering?

OK this post meant to be just a post of the benches but went off in another direction, but that happens a lot with me so I will sign off now


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.754535 lat -73.9771783 long Est 49th Street NYC d3scr

Sort:  

It is sad that more and more warning signs go up everywhere. Running our little bnb has gotten me wanting to add more and more signs of late like
Please close windows when using aircon as some guests still leave windows wide open with hot air streaming in so the aircons work overtime!
Another one Please turn off aircon & lights before leaving
And yet another Please do not feed the monkeys as we have wild monkeys early morning and late afternoon running through the gardens.
There are many others I could add but that would not be very welcoming now would it!
Nice photos and a debatable topic!

Sadly as much as I hate all the signs in today’s age they are more and more needed as common sense seems to be far from common
Like to me the signs you need shouldn’t be needed as to me they seem obvious things to follow but clearly not to everyone these days

Exactly but unfortunately some people just don't think or only think of their own needs!

Sadly that is so true and it seems ot be gettign more true year by year time shave changed :(

It’s okay to rant or express your feelings. It’s good for us to know the author’s feelings because we can get a better feel of your post. I agree with everything you said. It’s really sad how how much money is spent on pointless things when you have people, who could possibly freeze to death, trying to survive and find a place to rest their heads. It really saddens me how it is.

Thanks for the read and the nice photo of the benches ;)

Thanks. As you have probably noticed for most of my post I just talk about the photos but occassionaly My Mind wanders off and I say what comes ot me, sometimes I delete it but other times I let it go, I probably should do it more but its not really somehting I am totally comfortable with doing

Thanks for your visit and support

Yes I have noticed that. Well whenever you want to let it go I’ll be hear to read it ;)

Thanks I am finding the longer I am on here the more I feel free to let it go :)

Thanks for the support

Always ~ 😊

With the cold weather that we have had an you have had lately, I can't imagine being out on the street. When they were talking about the -35 degree temps coming I looked at my wife and I said I can't imagine what they are going to do for the homeless people. The shelters only hold so many.

I always think the same when it gets cold
They do open up shelters but I have seen quite a few still sleeping on the sidewalk after I was giving hot coffee to a couple I saw I asked one about the shelters and he said he would never go to one as they all have some level of rules and he chooses to stay on the street than abide by anyone’s rules

I'd rather abide by a couple of rules than die from freezing to death though!!! I am sure they know all kinds of nooks and crannies for when the weather gets like that...

YEs I am the same, but this guy seemed pretty set on his ways, I hope he mad eit through this last cold spell we had
But your right I bet they do know how to find spots to provide some sort of protection, but not enough its got t be so dangerous for them

Great post!
I agree with your thoughts on the signs...
The loitering signs always confused me too. What if I want to loiter? Maybe I need to rest for a while. That looks the same as loitering.
haha

Exactly is there a set amount of time when it changes from sitting to loitering lol

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @tattoodjay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Some signs do make sense, some seems not. I usually see "Wet paint" on the benches. 😀
Do the people take notice of these signs?

I suspect most people never even notice these signs I have once seen a homeless person sleeping on these benches

The first thing I thought of when seeing the picture of the benches and flowers was that the flowers would be right at the height of the people's heads sitting on the bench.
Those flowers surely attract bees so that could be a problem for people sitting there. I know from experience that bees will fly into your ear. Back when I was kid and going to catholic school I was an alter boy and had that situation happpen while attending mass. The cut flowers on the alter were right behind my head and when they bee flew in my ear naturally I stuck my finger in my ear to shoe it out.
Well that didn't work to well, the bee felt trapped and threatened so it stung me inside of my ear. When that happened I instinctively let out, very loudly, "son of bitch" which didn't go over well with the priest and the rest of the folks in church.
My mother wasn't really happy with me either and I took one look at her and knew it was time to leave so I got up out of my chair, pulled off that alter boy smock and tossed in the chair and walked out the back door behind the alter and went and waited by the car.
I had some explaining to do for sure and it wasn't but a few minutes later Mother was out there to hear my story. "Son of bitch" was one of my Dad's favorite expressions when things didn't go right and he also got a talking to by my Mother when he got back in town from his work.
So that is what I thought first off.
I agree with you, lots of restrictions posted everywhere now days. How long can you sit without it being loitering is a good question, five minutes or maybe ten? Heaven forbid somebody sit there for a half an hour and enjoy watching people go by.
We spend millions and billions blowing up folks all over the world and can't take care of our own people here at home and keep them in a safe place is just a crime against humanity. A lot of those homeless people who would end up sleeping on those benches have some type of mental disorder from serving in the military doing the bombing and killing for the government that forbids them sleeping on a bench. That is pretty ironic in itself if you ask me. "Go kill those people over there and we'll take care of you when you get back." is what they are told going into the military and when they get back and have issues it isn't the governments problem, except for keeping them from sleeping on the benches.
I have said enough too for now.
Nice spot to look at though, even if it can't be utilized by those who need it.

Being allergic to bee stings when I was young that may be a reason why I would never sit in these benches or near flowers I am not sure if I am still allergic and would react to a sting but haven’t been stung since about 15 and try to limit the chances

I think if a bee stung me in my ear I would have probably said a lot worse than you did

And your so real get we spend well the world leaders spend so much on fighting and so little in medicine and taking care of people is disgusting and needs to change

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-nice-spot-to-sit-but


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Sign, sign, everywhere a sign
Blockin' out the scenery, breakin' my mind
Do this, don't do that, can't you read the sign?

:)

It is true it looks like a lovely place to sit and how long do you have to sit before it becomes loitering? ....... good question.

I am still wondering how long make sit loitering but I will never sit still long enough to find out I am sure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00