The Devil's Golf Course in the Valley of Death

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)


InfernoDeathValley.jpg
Click on image to view larger

The Devil's Golf Course

What is the hottest place you've ever been to?

How hot was it?

I used to live in Sacramento, California which is not too far from where this photo was taken - Death Valley. In the summer, Sacramento could sometimes soar up to 110-115 Fahrenheit, which is around 40 Celcius. The hottest ever recorded in world history at a whopping 134 F (56 C) and it was here in Death Valley in the Badwater basin only a few meters from this photo's location.

I've been to Death Valley plenty of times to see if I could catch this insane heat that it's so famous for. Maybe the heat turned my brains into a scramble to have such crazy ideas. Sadly, I've never felt any insane heat all the times I've visited - at least not in comparison to Sacramento.

Well, on this day, I got my wish and a little more than I bargained for. On the afternoon before I took this sunset photo, I went to the Badwater area to walk on the salt flats. My car was swerving around from the frequent gust of wind. I thought, hey it's windy it must not be that hot outside (I had air conditioning on).

So I parked my car.

Opened the door and proceeded to step outside.

Swoosh, comes a gust of wind nearly knocking me over.

But that wasn't what got my attention. It was the insane heat that nearly seared my exposed skin. I can't possibly explain to you in words how that gust of wind felt like but imagine for a second placing your face near the oven as you opened it - just like that.

It was so hot you could crack open an egg and scramble it right there on the ground. I took a cigarette out of the cartoon and it lit itself. If there were cows roaming around they would be giving out evaporated milk. It was so hot that if Lance Armstrong was there, he would have tested positive for water! I mean, I was sweating like a politician on election day.

No joke!

I saw another group of people who parked nearby. A few of them tried to get out of their cars but immediately ran back inside after feeling the heat! Several more cars came and people tried to get out but end up crawling back into their cars after feeling the hot air. I tried to stay out and brave it for a few more seconds more but I too eventually ran back to my air-conditioned car...

I drove back to the visitor center to cool off and finally decided to take this photo after the sun had gone down a little. The skies turned into the blazing and fiery red as it engulfed the mountains in flames. I can still feel the howling wind carrying extreme heat. It felt as if I fell into the furnace of hell.

Have you been to the Devil's Golf Course?


CategoryLandscape
ExposureAperture Priority, 1/3 sec, f/16, ISO 100
CameraSony A7II
LensSony FE 24-240mm
FilterPolarizer/Graduated Neutral Density Filter
LocationDeath Valley, California

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness." - Mark Twain

All photos are taken and articles are written by Adonis Villanueva of Always Wanderlust unless otherwise stated.


GET 70% OFF TRAVEL AND ADVENTURE GEAR @ CLYMB - Get $10 Now!
GET UP TO 2X YOUR VOTE VALUE - Steem Follower
GET MORE FOLLOWERS - Steem Engine

Twitter Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Facebook Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Instagram Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Website, AlwaysWanderlust.com

© 2017 AlwaysWanderlust.com All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

Read something about an ultra-marathon organized there at some point -
think it was the book Born to Run - and somehow Death Valley remained on my mind as a place I must go to one day. And I won't miss the chance if I'll ever get it. ;)

Until then, I'll probably get more into something lower than -30 Celsius. :D

That book is amazing! It helped me completely transform my running technique - no more back soreness after marathons! I also highly recommend reading "Running With Your Whole Body" by Jack Heggie - https://www.feldenkraisresources.com/Running-With-the-Whole-Body-by-Jack-Heggie-p/1172.htm - great book with lots of useful technique improvement tips!

Agree. The technique described there helped me as well. And then found this video: Principles of Natural Running No more knee pain.

Thanks for sharing. I'll search for and read it. ;)

They do have that marathon to run across the salt flats...insane :)

Incredible photo! I love all the ways you described the heat. I could imagine being there and how it must have felt. May have to add this to my bucket list! I always enjoy adventures that are physically challenging and have an element of danger.

As long as you drink lots of water you're okay.

It's an insane place! I was there a few years ago... Definitely the hottest place I have experienced. Great photo!

whoa. looks like a different planet. mind blown 🤯

Awesome Picture! Love your shots !!!

What dramatic photo... looks very nice my friend!! Followed you!

Do you like this one?kkk (4 of 6).jpg
@dabird

You were having a great time when you took this...?

2 years ago :)

i was in California last year under the heat wave in September. we where driving from Canada to burning man. and first stop at Sundial Bridge in Redding California remember jumping out of the car and o...shit... got hit in the face. a was in the black rock desert in Nevada, fore 10 days and it was a and it was extremely challenging my friend had a camping car with Air condition that was the rescue fore me, a felt the I felt the heat stroke many times. the we measured 120. fore a cold Norwegian a summer at home is hot when its 80 f so that's my record.
pic of my friend's car wheel left some melt rubber.

20160904_090821.jpg

Oh yeah, I pass by Redding all the time...That place gets really hot too!

it There was impressive heat difference after the mountains in California
a guess
last year was one of the record the years in the death valley

is it coral? can we walk there? my photo shots are very good I like, and the moment is beautiful, I have never gotten a moment like you.

It's salt and yes you can can walk there

Ooo thanks brother i like your picture

it looks spooky, but the sunset is amazing!!

Awesome photo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97