Sunset in the Tetons (#2)

in #photofeed6 years ago

Since my last post was a shot taken in the morning in Grand Teton National Park I thought that I'd switch it up and post one from the evening there next. The Tetons are unique (at least in my experience) in not having foothills to block your view of the major peaks that make up the range. Especially in the national park it is rather flat and low-lying until that rather abruptly gives way to massive mountains, which is a treat for landscape photographers.

This shot came about on my last day in Grand Teton National Park. I'd been out wandering the park since the wee hours of the morning and had finally decided to call it a day and head back to camp for supper. Driving back I had both the mountain range and the setting sun on my left and the rays of sunlight sneaking through between the peaks kept taunting me. Finally I could take it no longer and when I saw this I found a turnout and parked and got my gear out again. By the time this was taken the sun was fully behind the mountains and the gaps were the only places still getting sunlight. Needless to say I cook supper by flashlight that night.

tetonsunset.jpg

f/16, 1/25s

It was brought to my attention that I probably should have included more example shots in my recent post about filters, so I would like to somewhat remedy that now. This shot was taken using graduated ND filters, without those the foreground on this would have been almost completely dark and/or the peaks washed out and overexposed.

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-nature" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

An enviable experience! Well done!

Thanks! The Tetons are amazing, now if only I can make it back there again...

Congratulations @coloneljethro! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great shot! So this ND filter, where did you get it? Some more details plz.
I am looking for a cheap 10 stop one(for long exposures of course). Graduated ones would have been great investment but are so expensive.
Also love the light colors on this one. Love to know about post processing as well if it is involved.

Thanks! I ordered mine from B&H Photo. I started off with a couple Cokin filter sets (one grad, one solid) and they were in the $50-$75 range for a set of 3 different ones, haven't had any issues with them (the ones you get aren't the strongest but I stack them so it isn't too bad). I went cheap with getting a 10 stop, got a Formatt Hittech and it has such a bad color aberration that it's useless for just about anything besides a coaster (a $50 coaster). I've heard from a few other photographers that their firecrest line isn't bad but nothing good about the cheaper ones they make.

As for processing, I had to use the dehaze filter some because there was haze everywhere due to nearby wildfires. Other than that it was just a bit of tweaking the temp, contrast, and levels.

Thanks man. I will look out for cokin filter sets.
Looks like dehazing is what i was looking for in landscapes. Thanks for that too.

No problem! If you use Photoshop, the dehazing is under the fx tab in camera raw.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63576.35
ETH 3066.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80