The Long And Winding Road

in #photofeed6 years ago

Stars and Cars

It's been too long since I've posted photos from the recent trip across Canada; in fact, Steemit is to blame, because I've been spending so much time getting started on here that I haven't been editing photos!

Well, here's a new one from a place called Lillooet. It's in western British Columbia: if you were to drive from Kamloops to Whistler you'd go through Lillooet.

This photo is a composite of frames that I took with the camera on a tripod: one exposure for the stars, another for the foreground, and two for the cartrails (one car in each direction).

DSC_6825-Edit.jpg

Sort:  

You did a remarkable job putting the frames together. Love it!

Thank you! :)

maravillosa fotografia, debe manejar muy bien las herramientas, suerte

Wow Wow that's a very unique image ,it's a really remarkable picture that is so amazing

I'm glad you think so - thank you!

It's got that human vs nature vibe. Machine meets the heavens. I'm a sucker for light trails. Right on...great job. Burning Man on the playa feels like this. You can look to the horizon at night and see the carnival on the ground and then it's all stars from the horizon up. You been to BM? You'd be seriously inspired as a photographer.

Thank you, Nathan! That's a good commentary on it - and I do like when I'm able to photograph humanity interacting with nature in a cohesive manner. I haven't been to Burning Man, but I've seen a lot of amazing photos from there, especially from Trey Ratcliff, showcasing the colour and whimsy of that gathering. Maybe some day. :)

Top job on that photo.

Great work, last year I gave up trying to shoot raw and edit, pictures like this make me think about learning to edit

It depends on what kind of photos you're taking, but anytime you're facing a scene with a lot of contrast, where the highlights or the shadows get clipped, RAW becomes very useful! :)

Ive posted a picture in cityscape today, I would like to be able to get the right hand side, the same brightness
Do you think it could be done? I cant get it how I see it with the camera

Hi @djh, that would be a pretty easy adjustment to make in Lightroom or Photoshop with a gradient filter. No problem at all! It would do the same thing that a glass gradient filter would. :)

Thanks Derekkind, I bought some filters a few years back and decided its far too much messing about lol next time I manage to get a job I will treat myself to photoshop & a course to fast track getting the hang of it:-)

Hi Derek! I've been wondering how come I haven't been seeing you in my feed. Turns out I haven't followed you yet! You've posted a lot since your introductory post, and they're all very beautiful shots!

This one was no exception! My favorite here has to be the sky! How long does it usually take you to post-process or edit your photos?

Hehe, yes, I've been trying to stay as active as possible on here - and I've followed you back now.

Thank you so much! That's an excellent question - and like any excellent question doesn't have a perfect answer: it varies, of course. With some photos there's really nothing that needs to be done, just a few slider adjustments in Lightroom, and others (like startrails, focus stacking, etc) are complex composites that combine many frames, but lately I've been averaging about an hour per photo - one reason I haven't processed more of my Canada images yet! I spend more and more time on my photos as I become a better photographer and editor and I pay more attention to the details.

Awesome! I think post-processing is an entirely different thing to learn as well, aside from photography itself. I've been trying out Lightroom with some old photographs, and I think I still have a lot to discover aside from just changing the brightness, contrast, and vibrance!

Yep, it's definitely a completely different thing! It's fun to go and play with all the sliders and see what happens.

Hey, if you want to practice on RAWs file, we have a contest going on right now: https://steemit.com/photogames/@derekkind/fix-it-friday-by-derekkind-photo-games-week-1-day-5

Thanks for the link, I'll go ahead and try it out maybe next week! :)

We also have a new central @photogames account - you might enjoy playing! :)

Nice, I'll definitely check it out!

Great composition! Love the sky and the colours . . . beautiful.

Loving this! So pleasing to the eyes. Leads the eye so well around the image! Great capture!

Thank you, Joel! Yeah, I like photographing hairpin turns like this because of how their shape keeps everything contained in the frame. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73