Waterfall Wednesday - Russel Falls in Tasmania

in #photofeed6 years ago

Jungle Vibes

For this week's Waterfall Wednesday I'm sharing one of the most popular waterfalls I had the pleasure of photographing in Tasmania while I was there for 2 months. I happened to be there during their winter which is when it actually rains down in Australia so the falls were pumping, so much in fact that standing in front of it for 30 seconds meant you were soaked! Even standing where I was when I took this photo, I was soaked after a few minutes and must have wiped my lens off a dozen times. A 1 second exposure was all I needed to get nice silky smooth water, coupled with a circular polarizer to cut down on glare from the water. If you're taking long exposures of waterfalls, a circular polarizer is one of those must have tools, it really is worth its weight in gold.

One of the benefits of seeing this place in the winter, and Tasmania in general, is there's hardly any people out in the National Parks, a real god send when you're taking landscape photos. The peace and quiet is an added bonus too.

Anyways, I hope you enjoy my Waterfall Wednesday photo! Happy hump-day as well!

IMG_2994.jpg

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 01:19:50
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 88.85/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 16
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Stunning! This is the third photo of this waterfall I've seen on steemit, taken from pretty much the same spot. @kieranstone and @intrepidphotos have similar shots, all gorgeous takes on this lovely subject!
I've been meaning to ask you if you'd like to be a judge in the Mountains Monday Nature Photo Contest next week. If you are not familiar with it, the Water Wednesday submissions post and Trees Tuesday winners post would be a good intro. Also, feel free to email me at [email protected] with any questions. Thanks! :)

I thought it looked familiar! Well, I don't blame them, I'd take this photo too!!

Thank you! Yeah, it's a pretty popular waterfall down in Tasmania so it gets quite a lot of attention! Rightly so since it's so beautiful.
I'm definitely interested in being a judge but I don't think this week will work since I have a lot of photo work and deadlines I have to meet. I'll send you an email though! :)

Sounds good! Maybe next week will work for you - let's connect via email and we'll take it from there. Thanks!

Man, Tasmania is neat. Honestly never knew how cool it was

You would love it down there.

Dude, it's so rad down there.

Worth getting wet for! Great shot! Resteemed.

Thank you so much!! Definitely worth the midday shower hahaha

Love that spot . So beautiful down there.

It's gorgeous man! I think this spot, Cape Huay, and Bay of Fires are my all time favorite spots in Australia

really nice click, it is perfect photo.. trees, rock and water clear fall.. great

Beautiful image that gives you the sense of what it must have been like being there. At peace in the seclusion. Love the uncultivated tree ferns and mosses. 🦋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59