You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is There Anybody Out There?

in #photofeed5 years ago

Finding this post is a bit ironic while being in the process of culling many accounts from my follow list. Many have been witnesses. Since my activity started on the blockchain all active witnesses have been followed. With my witness votes now being fairly static that seems no longer necessary. To try to focus better on my personal Steem Fam, those accounts not reciprocating my follows are being given a hard look as to the justification of continuing my follows. That process has brought me to your door. 😎

Sort:  

Glad you dropped by! When I was getting started on here I refrained from automatically following everyone who followed me so that my feed didn't end up overly cluttered, now it's beginning to look like I may need to go through and follow everyone who's still active. I've been putting off culling my follows in hopes that people return once the price of STEEM goes back up. I guess we'll see here in a few months.

You've been on the platform much longer than I have, is this lack of activity normal during downturns in the crypto market?

... this lack of activity normal during downturns in the crypto market?

No question that bear markets affect the activity of crypto communities. STEEM missed the last major bear market of 2015 yet the Devcoins Project (which has had my involvement since 2013) was hit hard by it; with its recovery hit a second time during this last year's sustained bear market.

The sad truth is that the majority of folks are lured to content rewarding projects, like STEEM and Devcoin, by the promise of those rewards.

My feeling is that in times like this there are more rewards for us to split or prices cheap enough to get a better stake. Although a little premature in predicting the bottom, my buy in to Dolphin at 8275 btc satoshi is already looking good at today's trading of 10600 btc satoshi. 😎

my buy in to Dolphin at 8275 btc satoshi is already looking good at today's trading of 10600 btc satoshi

Nice! When I joined up I decided I was going to earn STEEM rather than buy in (I thought it'd be a lot easier...), which saved me from losing money but has made for slow growth. It keeps me from worrying too much about the price of STEEM though.

The promise of rewards definitely drew me in but I was going to be creating content anyway, might as well go where I could possibly make money too. It hasn't worked out quite like I'd expected but I'm still convinced it'll pay off in the long run. In the meantime it'll be interesting to see who the real diehards are.

If you are a content creator it is definitely the way to go. In my first 2 years my posts totalled a little over 50, so that has never been an option for me. Besides the btc was just gathering dust from my buy back in in the 2015 dip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96