Is There Anybody Out There?

in #photofeed5 years ago

portangelessunset.jpg

Is there anybody out there? Steemit lately has started making me think of Pink Floyd...

I've started noticing that more and more of my friends and acquaintances on here haven't posted anything new in 2 weeks, a month, or even 6 weeks or more. What's our explanation for it this time? At this point blaming it on the price of STEEM has reached cliche status hasn't it? I admit I haven't posted as much as in times past but that has more to do with my love/hate relationship with social media (I'll spend way too much time on it, realize what I'm doing and get annoyed and then avoid it entirely for a while....that's what they mean by balance, right?) than anything else.

So where do we go from here? While we now know who the diehard steemians are, it'd be nice the see some new (and old) faces again. At this point my train of thought seems to have derailed, and despite my bitching, I ain't going nowhere so I'll just bring this to a close.

Photo taken during golden hour at Port Angeles, Washington.

Sort:  

I have noticed it too. Lately my feed is full of resteem from some curation communities and only a handful from the people I have chosen to follow. As you said maybe it is because I followed a lot when Ι first got here and then neglecting to do so. It looks like only a few stay for a long time...

Mine's pretty much the same, mostly photography curation groups and a few people that still post a lot. While there doesn't seem to be that many that have stuck around, I imagine quite a few will be back once the price of STEEM goes up. Until then I guess we just have to make new friends. Now if only everyone would delegate their SP before they went inactive...

Yes I have thought of this wasted SP. It is too bad but once people turn inactive you can't find them to propose an alternative. Hopefuly some of them will come back!

Finding this post is a bit ironic while being in the process of culling many accounts from my follow list. Many have been witnesses. Since my activity started on the blockchain all active witnesses have been followed. With my witness votes now being fairly static that seems no longer necessary. To try to focus better on my personal Steem Fam, those accounts not reciprocating my follows are being given a hard look as to the justification of continuing my follows. That process has brought me to your door. 😎

Glad you dropped by! When I was getting started on here I refrained from automatically following everyone who followed me so that my feed didn't end up overly cluttered, now it's beginning to look like I may need to go through and follow everyone who's still active. I've been putting off culling my follows in hopes that people return once the price of STEEM goes back up. I guess we'll see here in a few months.

You've been on the platform much longer than I have, is this lack of activity normal during downturns in the crypto market?

... this lack of activity normal during downturns in the crypto market?

No question that bear markets affect the activity of crypto communities. STEEM missed the last major bear market of 2015 yet the Devcoins Project (which has had my involvement since 2013) was hit hard by it; with its recovery hit a second time during this last year's sustained bear market.

The sad truth is that the majority of folks are lured to content rewarding projects, like STEEM and Devcoin, by the promise of those rewards.

My feeling is that in times like this there are more rewards for us to split or prices cheap enough to get a better stake. Although a little premature in predicting the bottom, my buy in to Dolphin at 8275 btc satoshi is already looking good at today's trading of 10600 btc satoshi. 😎

my buy in to Dolphin at 8275 btc satoshi is already looking good at today's trading of 10600 btc satoshi

Nice! When I joined up I decided I was going to earn STEEM rather than buy in (I thought it'd be a lot easier...), which saved me from losing money but has made for slow growth. It keeps me from worrying too much about the price of STEEM though.

The promise of rewards definitely drew me in but I was going to be creating content anyway, might as well go where I could possibly make money too. It hasn't worked out quite like I'd expected but I'm still convinced it'll pay off in the long run. In the meantime it'll be interesting to see who the real diehards are.

If you are a content creator it is definitely the way to go. In my first 2 years my posts totalled a little over 50, so that has never been an option for me. Besides the btc was just gathering dust from my buy back in in the 2015 dip.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You should find more people to follow since people are starting to become inactive. I recommend checking out my alternative account where I support libertarian authors and news reporters on Steemit.

Follow @freevoluntarist to support alternative media!

Probably so. I followed way too many people when I first got started and then had to cull it when my feed got too spammy. Now I have the opposite problem...

Libertarian you say? I'll check it out :)

First, i couldn't reply your comment on my post, i don't know why. Not happy to say this, but it's like it's my style, even in real life i get that "long time no see".

In steemit, i was disappointed more by lack of real interactions and less by the steem price. I see upvotes but every time i ask my self "has anyone actually seen my photo?"

I like the reward, i like those curation trails but more i love to see that my photo (content in general) has an affect. Though thisight be the same on other social medias.

And there's another thing too, is i don't interact a lot with others, i don't expect much of that. :)

Hey, there's nothing that says you have to be social all the time! Good to see you around again.

I think there's a correlation between the steem price and the level of real interaction. I get frustrated for the opposite reasons, I feel like people see my photo and upvote it and scroll right on past the discussion I'm trying to start. I see some people who consistently have a good deal of interactions on their posts but there's not that many of those and most seem to have been around for quite some time. Perhaps we're rushing things and just need to be patient and build up followers, I don't know.

Rewards are great but the much of the draw of steemit for me is the variety of people/places/things you get to see and learn about on here. Keep posting, I love seeing stuff from your part of the planet!

Surlely there is a correlation between steem price and real interactions, though natural, but that's also a little bit sad.

I think if someone keeps the consistency, he/she will be successful, except things completely goes wrong.

I'll try and hopefully i'll be more consistent than before.

:D
i had almost the same post month or two ago, i even did a test livestream with exactly this youtube clip playing over and over again in a loop :D

Ha, nice! I love me some Pink Floyd and it just seemed fitting, there's been a bit of an echo around here lately.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97