All Saints' | Wszystkich świętych | short photography series from my hometown

DSC_1684.jpg

on the way to the cemetery

All Saints' / Wszystkich świętych

In catholic theology, All Saints' Day commemorates all those who attained communion with God; known and obscured saints. It is also the day of celebrating the bond between the living and those in heaven. In Poland, All Saints' Day is the national holiday. Along with the following All Souls' Day it is the time of visiting the graves of our families' members, lighting candles and praying for the souls of the dead. Apart from visiting the cemetery, I took a stroll around town with my younger sister.

DSC_1688.jpg

DSC_1694-1.jpg

DSC_1701.jpg

DSC_1738.jpg

DSC_1725.jpg
by the river

DSC_1714.jpg

DSC_1730.jpg

DSC_1712.jpg
community gardens

DSC_1750.jpg

DSC_1752.jpg

DSC_1751.jpg

DSC_1754.jpg

CameraNikon D3100
LensPentacon Electric 50 mm, f/1.8
LocationPoniatowa

DSC_1777-1.jpg


by @postcardsfromlbn

Sort:  

Hi postcardsfromlbn,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Pretty good to know about different culture..never knew about Saint Day. Is it like respecting your beloved family members by burning candles on their grave??
Pardon in case i was wrong, just curious to know...here in my country there is one complete month that people use to do some rituals for their passed parent we call them "pitr paksh" in hindi

Posted using Partiko Android

To put it simply, yes :) Thanks for the kind words.

Hahaha...i was in middle of writying and i pressed the enter...haha....just missed to appreciate you photography. Realy you have given a new dimension on each of them especialyy the second and third i loved a lot .....perfect angle ...👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I was fascinated by the 50mm with which you captured such interesting mystical images of that Catholic tradition. I have a question about the Pentacon Electric 50 mm, f/1.8. is manual? has a ring to place it on your d3100?

I have a 50mm 1.8 series E is manual and good I have a few years accustomed to manual approaches.

the aesthetics of the photos fascinates me, the soft light, the colors, I produce a tranquility. here in my country Venezuela, many Catholic festivities are celebrated but of syncretic origin, half African half Catholic. and the difference is marked here is very colorful and noisy religious activities, instead your graphics make me see that the atmosphere was very relaxed and apasiguado. I like.

thank you for sharing, excellent pictures.

greetings, peace and love

Thank you! Yep, Pentacon Electric is a vintage manual lens. It has some "auto" switch which blocks aperture blades in the position of f/2.8-4, but it's not compatible with Nikons, so I use it as fully manual lens. Since it has M42 screw mount, to affix it on Nikon body I need an adapter. The adapter has additional lens, enabling it to focus to the infinity (that's just how Nikon works), unfortunately it does screw up quality of the photos (esp. below f/5.6) a bit. However, comparing Pentacon to other vintage lenses, it's the best choice - it's one of the sharpest, has multi-coating thus performs nicely even in full sunlight, no part of the lens retracts thus hitting camera's mirror or adapter (it's the issue that for example Helios and Carl Zeiss Jena lenses have).

You have vivid and crisp photos there. Very good capture! Thank you for sharing those.

I am very glad that you explained the All Saint's Day and All Soul's Day at the start of your post. And I am happier to see not devil or demon mascots. While I respect how others "celebrate" Halloween and let them be, the priest's question from years ago keeps playing in my head every this time of the year: "We are celebrating All Saint's Day. Why are you dressing your children like demons? Dress them like saints or angels instead." 😊

Thanks :) And the priest had a good point!

He certainly does have a point. 😊

It is also a National holiday in Slovakia and we go to the cemetery to light candles as well. It's a very emotional day for our family as we lost our grandfather recently. But I like going to the cemetery during the All Saints. It looks beautiful in the evening. The candle lights are slowly moving in the wind and it feels like you are visiting people who you love (I hope that doesn't sound too creepy :D )

Your photos are very nice. I like that they are kind of dark and it looks like the weather played together with you to form a theme :) My favorite photo would be the black and one with two people walking in a forest/park. I like that your photos are telling stories :)

Thank you for sharing! Have a lovely weekend!

Thank you! :)

I like the atmosphere of cemetery on All Saints' as well. It's not creepy, it's usually not even sad - maybe melancholic a bit. In a village few kilometres from my hometown there is an old cemetery on the hill. Imagine a steep hill all covered in lights - beautiful!

Exactly! I do agree with you. It's a special atmosphere during the All Saints.. and that cemetery on the hill but must amazing during the night... I can see all those lights :)

YESS YESS YESS. Finally someone talking about all saints' day instead of stupid halloween :) so glad you took it from this angle :) I live abroad in Austria, but I'm from Slovakia and we always used to go to cemeteries exactly like you did in the post. Going to cemetary to light up the candles...not to bars to get drunk! Really appreciate ur post :))

I totally love the last picture. I remember same image in my head from when I was younger and my grandma was praying way too long. And I was just looking into the candles, waiting for her. It brings nice memories :) Thanks for that!

howdy sir postcardsfromlbn! this is very interesting because I didn't know what All Saints Day was about and you gave a good explanation. It looks to be an excellent way to honor family members who have gone before us too.
And this is an annual celebration or observation?

Yes, All Saints' Day is an annual celebration, if that's what you're asking about. Thanks for stopping by.

thank you postcardsfromlbn! it was, it sounds like a wonderful celebration and thanks for the answer!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95