You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Unnamed Peak and Introverts

in #photofeed5 years ago

You can only hope for your kids to figure out who they are and to be happy. Us parents are just along for the ride. I jest but beyond support and love you just have to let them figure it out. I know, I spent too much time trying to tell them how.

Sort:  

Yes for sure; they will be who they will be (with some guidance obviously) . I was more commenting on how strange it is that even I feel as a life long introvert that extroverted qualities are something to aspire to in my kids. When the results say that this is not necessarily a quality which drives better outcomes.

Yes. I understand. I would say you aspire to be more extroverted. We often project our aspirations onto our kids. Or another way to look at it is we don't want our kids to have the same difficulties in life we have had. But to your real point, we are all sucked into societies biases. Even when we know what they are, they are still powerful.

The funny thing is I don't think I do aspire to me more extroverted. If anything I aspire to head off into the wilderness with my family away from society. I spend a lot of my life having to be extroverted. I don't normally link my other work with my photography related life but I have managed clean-tech startup companies for the last 10 years with 20+ direct staff and constant capital raising requirements which involves a lot of promotional work. I guess I just want them to be able to have those skills as well. I would think it is easier to teach an introvert how to public speak then it is to teach an extrovert how to contemplate life alone in a cabin in the woods for a week. lol thats probably my own bias talking there but perhaps that's why they make better CEO's.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93