First Time Creating Light People

in #photofeed5 years ago

For any of you that have been following me, you know that I thoroughly enjoy light painting and a variety of other night/long exposure photography. The ability to have a scene and also create an artistic aspect of your own to it, draws me in every time!

My love for this style of photography has had me seeking new styles and techniques that I can challenge myself with and one that I have seen many times and always said that I need to try is light figures/people. Well last night I finally tried it and it was a blast! Below is the best creation of the night.

IMG_8629.jpg

That was the best shot but far from being the only one. It is probably the most tricky style of light painting that I have tried to date. Here is one of the off shots, I was standing too close to the camera so part of the head is not in the shot and the light painting is too loose and there is not enough of it (especially on the arms).

IMG_8624.jpg

It really is a challenge and this was the first of many future attempts! Typically I don't share what I call set up shots. I always take initial shots at every location. Just to test the lighting, settings on the camera, the feel of the location or anything else. This time I am sharing them because they themselves where fun to make and turned out pretty cool looking in their own ways.

IMG_8611.jpg

IMG_8616.jpg

Have any future ideas on how I could improve this style or cool location ideas? Let me know in the comments!

Sort:  
Loading...

Wow this is really good for your first attempts at painting a person - and the graffiti is a great background. I suppose you will always nitpick your own work but from the outside this looks pretty damn good already :)

Thanks! And yeah we all tend to be our own worst critics lol

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .

Wow! This looks great! I haven't seen something like that before. Can I ask a silly question? :) How do you the lightpainting? It looks amazing!

I can imagine that old warehouses or any abandoned places would be great for this style.

There are no silly questions :P These were done with a 2 - 3 min exposure, while running a light across my body. There are tonnes of tutorials online :) And I fully agree! I have been brainstorming cool abandoned places to try it out again.

I'll check them out. Now at least I understand how you did it and it makes sense :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07