Sunburnt, but Happy: a Walk Among Rice Fields in Rural BALI

in #photofeed6 years ago

Traveling solo is great.

You get to decide where to go, what to do and when to do it. Nobody is there to tell you NO... except from your bank account, which is always there in the background judging your every move and occasionally crushing your day dreams.

However, traveling solo as a photographer is even more rewarding.

We all know how annoying it can be traveling with that friend that loves to take pictures and always ends up slowing down the entire group, because they're either waiting for "the perfect moment" or looking for "the perfect angle". I may be in love with my camera, but I do still experience both sides of the story.

I have to feel inspired to take photos, and inspiration is something that I lack every so often. Might have something to do with my tendency to get bored doing the same thing over and over again... or, you know, simple laziness.

When I arrived in Ubud for the first time, my enthusiasm to explore and take photos was sky high. After spending months looking at videos and photos of Bali, being finally there had me feeling like a fat kid at the largest candy store in town.

UBUD (1 of 15).jpg

So on my first day there, I grabbed my camera, a bottle of water and my trusty cheap sunglasses and embarked in a rather long walk around the wild side of this tiny town in the middle of the most popular island in Indonesia.

UBUD (8 of 15).jpg

UBUD (9 of 15).jpg

UBUD (6 of 15).jpg

UBUD (7 of 15).jpg

There was nothing but green.

My eyes needed a moment to adjust to the amount of greenery that they were looking at. There were palm trees, banana trees, rice fields and another million different types of plants surrounding me, and all I could do was think of how happy I was to be there, not just because I had wanted it for so long, but also because I was on my own and I could take all the time I wanted to take all the pictures my camera batteries allowed heart desired.

UBUD (12 of 15).jpg

The walk consisted in a little path that went through numerous hills and rice fields, providing me with spectacular views that I had to stop and stare at for a while to take them all in. I walked for hours and I only crossed 4 people in total, excluding the few farmers I saw from afar working in the fields. You can imagine my joy for having the place almost all to myself!

UBUD (2 of 15).jpg

UBUD (14 of 15).jpg

UBUD (5 of 15).jpg

UBUD (4 of 15).jpg

UBUD (13 of 15).jpg

UBUD (10 of 15).jpg

It was slightly cloudy, very humid and very hot, just like most days in Bali. I had worn sunscreen, but there's only so much it can do when you're walking under the sun for an entire afternoon.

You should have seen the charming shorts and farmer's tan I got to parade for the next few days... so beautiful.

It was worth it. I saw wonderful landscapes, took a bunch of pictures and I even got to enjoy a delicious lemon juice at a nice cafe located in the middle of rice fields.

UBUD (3 of 15).jpg

I was sunburnt, but I was happy.

I'm not gonna be cheesy and say that it was the afternoon I had dreamed about having in Ubud, but it certainly satisfied my soul as a traveler and as a photographer. Little did I know, I would be walking the same path a couple of months later in the company of great friends I made during my travels -- another wonderful thing about being a 'nomad'.


Steem for the win!

SteemBanner1.png

Sort:  

Sounds like great experience! Pictures are wonderful!
However the father in me cannot help worry about a young lady out on her own taking pictures.
Not sure how old you are but please be careful. Taking pictures of all that beautiful scenery you might be distracted and let your guard down. As I say to my girls life should be fare but reality says it is not and women on there own are always a potential target.
Hope your travels continue to be safe!

Thank you for the compliment and for your concern!
I have been traveling for over 5 years now, and most of the time has been on my own, so trust me when I say that I do try my best to be careful and avoid compromising situations every time. I don't ever go to places or do things that wouldn't make me feel comfortable. Now I'm traveling in great company, so I'm enjoying that just as much.
However, it's always good to keep in mind that danger is everywhere and that we could get hurt even in the comfort of our own home. Traveling with fear isn't fun, so it's good to find a balance. I think I've been doing pretty well so far :)
Thanks again for your comment and have a nice day!

These pictures are so nice thank you for being unique

Thank YOU for saying that! Really appreciated :)

Beautiful place! I have a love/hate relationship with Bali. I love how green everything is and how serene it is when you're out on those rice terraces and you don't have anyone else around.

Ubud was probably one of my favourite places to visit while there as well. It's a little hectic in the city but once you leave and arrive in the jungle you can see why so many people flock around to get a little piece of peace and quiet.

I know what you mean... You love Bali for its raw and wild nature, but you hate it because it's becoming a dumping site and no one seems to care, right?

It was so disappointing to see trash covering beaches, rivers, jungles and mountains. I even went on snorkelling trips and saw plastic bottles and bags while swimming! Outrageous. There are some good hearted people trying their best to incite people to change, but it will take a lot of time for them to make a difference.

Ubud must have been a real gem back in its day. Indeed, it's very chaotic now, but luckily the outskirts are still green and peaceful. I just hope tourism won't bring about more damage in the area :/

Exactly! You hit the nail right on the head! Damn dirty foreigners. No wonder we have such a terrible rap over here.

It's so difficult when there are so many things that are wrapped in plastic and come packaged, without the proper means to dispose of/recycle. I think if there were better programs in place for handling the gross amount of plastic we produce, there wouldn't be as much of an issue with debris. But maybe it's too late. I like to think not.

You said very precisely about a friend, who makes everyone stop sometimes))) I like your photos, I see the real life of people and the beauty of nature on them.

Haha I feel for you...but also a little for your friend. Can't help but want to capture things the best way possible sometimes! It's always best not to be in a rush when traveling with photo lovers haha

Thanks for the kind comment! Very happy to hear you appreciate the little details in them :)

You just planted 0.88 tree(s)!


Thanks to @voyagesofcarla2

We have planted already 5728.47 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20708.94
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

Do you live in philippines? The place looks like from philippines

The location was mentioned in the title and in the post... It's Bali.

Thought it was from the philippines . I thnk same culture they have .

They share similarities, but very few. Mainly landscapes, I'd say.

nice post @voyagesofcarla2

Tisko Bot
Send 0.200 STEEM/SBD and the URL in the memo to @tisko to use the bot for a resteem and to get 5 good upvots.
Click here to see how to use Tisko Bot.

Seperti nya Foto foto tersebut, bisa menggambarkan begitu indah nya perjalanan anda

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63841.10
ETH 3299.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92