Through her lens

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

A few years ago now, I bought my daughter who would be around 5/6 at the time a Nintendo DS. She, like many kids born in the 21st century, was already reasonably au fait with an ipad/iphone and via her mum, a request came for an electronic toy.

The DS was one of the popular handhelds at the time for younger wiz-kids, the robust design, and front and rear cameras were just two of the features I liked. She liked it firstly because it was pink/purple, but later found more uses for it such as playing games and being creative with the cameras.


HNI_0006.JPG

Her mother and I split when she was really young, and I would become a weekend dad. I'll not dwell on this today but it was just to say that like her, I'd only get to see what happened photo-wise when the DS made the trip in her weekend bag. This would generally only happen when I was instructed to 'make it take pictures again', as the memory card would quickly become full.

I would try to educate her on deleting the completely duff photos, but that didn't happen often and so it was a case of moving the photos elsewhere to allow a fresh batch to be taken.

It was only about a year until this toy became obsolete and the iPad mini took over, but during that time I collected something like 400 pictures which weren't just white/black space or extreme close-ups of a thumb, (the total would be in the thousands otherwise :) ).

And I'm glad I did. It was interesting to see what I couldn't see - a view of the world through her lens. Here are a small selection of the pictures that made me smile whilst taking look through this morning.


HNI_0001.JPG
Sing?


HNI_0035.JPG
Swing!



HNI_0037 1.JPG


HNI_0084.JPG



HNI_0030.JPG


HNI_0045.JPG


HNI_0057.JPG



HNI_0022.JPG


HNI_0097.JPG


HNI_0037.JPG



HNI_0100.JPG


HNI_0003.JPG



HNI_0073.JPG


<3

Sort:  

Nice little post here but more importantly you have a treasure trove of images of your daughter, random a d candid...For a dad in your position I reckon that's gold.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Galen. A little treasure trove indeed - really happy I have these :)

Aww, how sweet is that!

I hope to find a way to keep all the images I take safe, but with digital it is near impoossible

Pretty sweet, if I do say so myself :)

I have them in a few places, google drive (boo?) being one.

What a valuable treasure you have there! I was thinking the other day how I wish I'd saved all of the photos I've taken since being a kid. It would have been cool to look back through what I was seeing when tehy were being taken. I know Google is to be frowned upon but Google Photos is one of my favorite products!

Thanks @patrickulrich :)

I do use google drive as one of the storage spaces but I'm yet to organise them into another more than a file dump - The folder is shared with my daughter and mother - for when they work out how to access :)

Aw.What a lovely way to spend the morning. Happy, happy!! 😍

A little hungover and not taking heed of Revisesociology's posture advice, this was a fun thing to do this morning :)

Mate, that is not only beautiful, but also priceless.

We have an old Samsung mobile that's attached to a Dropbox account which automatically uploads the random photos Miss 3 takes. It will make for some interesting conversations down the track I imagine.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @sparkesy43

Those photos are something to look forward to for sure :)

A treasure trove indeed, and a crowning last photo. Great share Asher, thanks :D

I think so, the treasure and the treasure in the final photo. Thank you @barge :)

wow Asher, I just saw this... its something amazing!

I'm so glad you got a chance to capture those memories, it will be something that you will always look back on and enjoy!

And she's such a cutie too!!!

Thanks Dave!

Yeah I'm happy to have kept them and have found another batch made on Paint which I think I'll put together today for a post.

This one makes me laugh :D

haha... she's in deep thought Its how I look when I try to figure out something complicated! :D

🎁 Hi @abh12345! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I think I seen another version of this girl somewhere playing football.. or it's only a dejavu. Wonderful world she has. But @abh12345 .. you seems like going to be a grandpa soon 😂😂😂 when you started to check on through her childhood memories like this. She's so cute!

haha :D

I hope I'm not a grandpa too soon but I guess if history repeats, that could well be the case before I am 50! :O

I hope that the history won't repeat so she can get a chance to travel around the world like her parents did first. But I you became a grandpa before 50.. then you can ask your grandson to call you Uncledad😂😂

I'd like her to do that first also :D

That was a good idea giving your daughter the DS. It gives you these priceless glimpses into her life and keeps you connected and close even when your not together throughout the week.

I am normally not one for giving my girls screens because so many kids these days spend to much time in front of them but I guess there’s some good to consider. They are eventually going to have to merge onto the information-highway... and I think it would be better if I came along for the ride.

Thank you for sharing a glimpse of your life with us. It’s what makes things real.

This is a human experience where together we are navigating the domain of digital communications and the next step in money and social media so it’s refreshing to have real people to human with here on the Steem Blockchain!

Eventually our kids are going to join us online, and for me, that is both exciting and terrifying at the same time.

How do you feel about that @abh12345?

It gives you these priceless glimpses into her life and keeps you connected and close even when your not together throughout the week.

That's how it ended up yes, I didn't expect to see many of the pictures initially.

She's 13 now, and at home does not have access to the wi-fi to keep her away from the screens.

This is a human experience where together we are navigating the domain of digital communications and the next step in money and social media so it’s refreshing to have real people to human with here on the Steem Blockchain!

I couldn't agree more. I've always been willing and comfortable sharing a lot, and think it's what builds a community.

Eventually our kids are going to join us online, and for me, that is both exciting and terrifying at the same time.

In 5 years my daughter will be 18, and I look forward to the time where I can visit her content (and hopefully reward her for it too!)

Thanks for your comments @wil.metcalfe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66