You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Birdhouse in action - Eurasian blue tit in caught on camera

in #photography5 years ago

So much to love about this!! A great bird house - sturdy and clearly wanted and used by the birds.

And your shots!! You have a good eye and clearly the patience of Job to catch these. :)

Years and years ago I worked on the funding for the spectacular volumes published and produced by the Royal Australasian Ornothologists Union and I discovered the world of birds - and "birdos" as they are colloquially called in Australia. :) I remain delighted and fascinated by birds in my Thai-Burmese world all these years later. Can't wait to see the baby birds!

Following you from Chiang Mai in Northern Thailand.

Sort:  

Thanks! I know birds are very light, but still I've been worried that the birdhouse would break under them so I've decided to build all the birdhouses very sturdy. Those should withstand even a child standing on the birdhouse without any issues.

Regarding the photos, the most difficult part was for the bird to trust me enough to enter the birdhouse. I had to be somewhat close to the birdhouse and at first it was a while it didn't fly to the birdhouse at all. But with a bit of patience it soon started to fly back and forth to the birdhouse. It always was just a blink of the eye and the bird had already flied past me.

Birds are truly one of the treasures of the world! And it'd be very interesting to travel somewhere else in the world to see what kinds of birds live there. What's very common to one is exotic and special for others.

Thank you for your comment :)

If you have the chance to come to Northern Thailand, we have such incredible birdlife here in the tropical mountains.... such a joy! I'd be delighted to connect you with some people to take you into the jungles for birdwatching. An idea. Meanwhile, keep at it with the nesting boxes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 58254.01
ETH 2971.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89