Sort:  

Yeah, common names for insects and other animals are often ambiguous and confusing.
"Katydid" Tettigoniidae are in the sub-order of Ensifera of Orthoptera, where as "grasshoppers" are of order Caelifera of Othoptera. Which is the same amount of phylogenic difference as dogs (carnivora canidae) and cats (carnivora feliformia)!

Simply amazing! Perhaps with your knowledge in this area is very fun to observe how people can not tell a dog from a cat 8))))
I think it would make me sick, if I were you! 8)))))

Well, they do look very similar. Though your's was the third post that made the mistake, I'm not annoyed or anything, it's an easy mistake to make and in fact until recently I thought katydids and grasshoppers were nearly the same thing too!

So, I looked up exactly how different they are and it turns out, like I said in the above thread, they are as close as cats and dogs. My day job is teaching so I don't mind sharing new knowledge at all. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99