Sort:  

@cosmiccrimes

Yeah im still confused why blues show up in my near infrared photos.

Maybe blue is higher on the electromagnetic visible color spectrum and infrared is lower. I don't know, just a guess.

@cosmiccrimes

Yeah so I would expect blues to show up in my Ultraviolet photos more likely than my Infrared.

Maybe the signs come out red but since my WB is set differently it looks blue. And it looks blue to human eyes because we cannot see infrared. hah idk...

I heard that snakes can see in infrared.

Yeah they can see "thermal infrared" around 3 to 12 μm.

My camera can only see down to Near infrared in the 1000ish nm range.

I have no idea what those numbers mean lol.

infrared, visible light and ultraviolet is measured in wave lengths. For my camera to see thermal it would have to be many times more sensitive to infrared as I max out around 1300 nm right now. I would need many times more range to see thermal.

nm and those others numbers just mean the wavelengh length.

I understand a little bit about waves. But not a lot, lol.

Dear @cosmiccrimes,
It really is my friend. And it looks great.
I really like that rock sitting on that stob/ (sign-) post @solominer.
Yours truly, Gandalf The White

@gandalfthewhite

yeah its a nice touch, I like how the paints show up in the image too. Many dyes and paints are invisible infrared.

Thanks for replying to my comment. I wish my camera could do infrared.

@cosmiccrimes

So your camera can get similar pictures probably, if you can screw on "infrared pass-through filters". I would assume the images would be darker but probably have a similar look. My friend put my filters on his non-modified camera. He had to do longer exposures for sure and the images were a little grainy but still looked kinda like infrared.

I did not know you can get an infrared filter for the camera. I thought there has to be some kind of electronic mechanism to make it possible.

@cosmiccrimes

To modify a camera to see infrared you are basically removing a piece of glass glued to the cameras image sensor. This glass is called a hot-mirror, it stops most uv and ir. I had this glass removed and replaced with a general glass that does not filter uv and ir.

So that being said, even with your stock camera with its hot-mirror. If you screw on an infrared pass through filter and use a tripod to take long exposure photos you "may" have some luck.

The filter depends on your lens size, as it goes on the end of the lens.

I think it would be easier to get a video camera that has infrared. With that said, I am looking for 'They Live' filter lol.

You mean a night vision scope? It wont look as good as a photo camera I would think. they are most designed for hunting and spying.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86