Infrared Photography - Trail signs

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Many signs can be found out on the trail, arrows, blazes, ribbons, sometimes clothes or boots. Below are arrows pointing to the directions of different trail loops. These signs were recently painted, and I was surprised when they came out as they did in infrared.

I am also curious of why blue shows in infrared, I would think it would show reds being close to infrared being up in the 720nm range which is mostly red and not blue. Blues are closer to violet which is closer to Ultraviolet.

My only guess is it has something to do with my white balance being set to white paper. I recently got a Gray card, which is exactly the color needed to set my white balance. I recently learned setting my white balance to a white sheet of paper is not ideal. So looking forward to getting back out to try out my 18% grey card.

This is my submission for #colorchallenge - #FridaySkyBlue initiated by @kalemandra.

P1160664.JPG

Camera ModelLumix GH3, modified by LifePixel for Full Spectrum
LensOlympus M.Zuiko Pancake 14-42mm
Filter37mm ZOMEI Infrared Passthrough filter
Aperturef/4.5
Shutter Speed1/160 sec
Film Speed400
SpectrumNear Infrared Region (NIR)
Wavelength720 nanometers
LocationGeorgia USA.

P1160665.JPG

Another angle of the trail signs, with one of those rocks on top of the post from another infrared photography post I did recently. I find them all over this trail, I think it was a boy scouts art project or school project. As there is a meeting area adjacent to these posts. You can see the seating in the background in the first photo

@momzillanc points them out and is her favorite.

Source: https://steemit.com/infrared/@solominer/beautiful-infrared-sunday-a-collection-of-photos-walking-through-the-forest

P1160716.JPG

#FridaySkyBlue

QmZKqWcCXFv6NC6mUtPUBRsETQgc3nEJC2BC4Bwo38BkZ6.gif

Appreciate the banner @nevlu123, thanks much.

Sort:  

Nice shot! How was the original color of the street sign?

@akdx

ah thank you very much

the "blue trail" park sign is brown/black

and the arrows are a similar blue to how they came out in infrared.

It was very nice!

@cosmiccrimes

Yeah im still confused why blues show up in my near infrared photos.

Maybe blue is higher on the electromagnetic visible color spectrum and infrared is lower. I don't know, just a guess.

@cosmiccrimes

Yeah so I would expect blues to show up in my Ultraviolet photos more likely than my Infrared.

Maybe the signs come out red but since my WB is set differently it looks blue. And it looks blue to human eyes because we cannot see infrared. hah idk...

I heard that snakes can see in infrared.

Yeah they can see "thermal infrared" around 3 to 12 μm.

My camera can only see down to Near infrared in the 1000ish nm range.

I have no idea what those numbers mean lol.

infrared, visible light and ultraviolet is measured in wave lengths. For my camera to see thermal it would have to be many times more sensitive to infrared as I max out around 1300 nm right now. I would need many times more range to see thermal.

nm and those others numbers just mean the wavelengh length.

Dear @cosmiccrimes,
It really is my friend. And it looks great.
I really like that rock sitting on that stob/ (sign-) post @solominer.
Yours truly, Gandalf The White

@gandalfthewhite

yeah its a nice touch, I like how the paints show up in the image too. Many dyes and paints are invisible infrared.

Thanks for replying to my comment. I wish my camera could do infrared.

@cosmiccrimes

So your camera can get similar pictures probably, if you can screw on "infrared pass-through filters". I would assume the images would be darker but probably have a similar look. My friend put my filters on his non-modified camera. He had to do longer exposures for sure and the images were a little grainy but still looked kinda like infrared.

I did not know you can get an infrared filter for the camera. I thought there has to be some kind of electronic mechanism to make it possible.

@cosmiccrimes

To modify a camera to see infrared you are basically removing a piece of glass glued to the cameras image sensor. This glass is called a hot-mirror, it stops most uv and ir. I had this glass removed and replaced with a general glass that does not filter uv and ir.

So that being said, even with your stock camera with its hot-mirror. If you screw on an infrared pass through filter and use a tripod to take long exposure photos you "may" have some luck.

The filter depends on your lens size, as it goes on the end of the lens.

I think it would be easier to get a video camera that has infrared. With that said, I am looking for 'They Live' filter lol.

You mean a night vision scope? It wont look as good as a photo camera I would think. they are most designed for hunting and spying.

Awesome Infrared photographs....
i Really like your all photos....

@setik-001

thanks much, appreciated.

this very good submission... good luck :)

@khanza.aulia

thanks much, really appreciated.

bueno, deberías estar feliz. En mi país ya casi no hay señales pues se las roban para vender el material de que están hechas.

@neyda1975

Thats sad to hear, and I bet its really frustrating for people that live there.

Pues sí, es triste, pero confío en que algún día más temprano que tarde, saldremos de esta pesadilla-

Very interesting, excellent photos

@theresa16

thanks much, I think so too.

So the signs are "boy scout blue:" :-)

@manorvillemike

hmm, I wonder if that was part of their project at this place. As I mentioned they do come out here to do meetings and such.

Arrows, one of the interesting photo objects

I like your photo @solominer

@amorjyoti

I was grinning too when I saw them, needed to include them in a post on Friday for #colorchallenge.

bueno, deberías estar feliz. En mi país ya casi no hay señales pues se las roban para vender el material de que están hechas.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01