What magic is this? One camera exposure, not photoshopped

in #photography5 years ago

Last night, in a cold former-factory in Pueblo, Co, the Colorado Light Painting group met up with some aerialists and I was able to take a shot at this effect. I'm including two pictures. One is the straight-out-of-camera jpg, the other was cropped and level-adjusted. I have things I'd absolutely improve for next time, but I wanted to share.

DSC_2387b.jpg

Two tripods, a mid-shot lens swap, a lightbox. 122 seconds total exposure time. But about three seconds of actual lighting time for the tubes, and a single flash pop later in the softbox.

Aerialist models Chris Wegert and Emily Wegert. Tube by Russell Klimas, front flash by Ben Lutze.

We shot the scene, then I moved the camera to a second tripod swap after swapping the initial lens for a 20mm. We had a jar (internally painted black) set up in lightbox and I popped a flash in there to whiteout everything around the jar.

Bam, we have two aerialists, light painted, in a jar, in one exposure, and zero post processing.

Thanks to Gregory Howell for use of Watertower Place in Pueblo!!

DSC_2387_b.jpg

Sort:  

When you said BAM, we have this and this and this.. I thought HUH!?! I still try to read it over and over and understand how you did it and you say it like it wasn't a big deal :D

This just made me smile :) Great job! Going to read it again and again and again until I finally understand it :)

Thank you for sharing!

Thanks! I'm happy to answer any questions you have!

Hi danchick,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Fantastic to see more and more such great Lightpaintings here! Keep it flowing!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Fascinating. I clicked on the link you left to another comment, the crash course of light painting. Quite ingenious.
This particular image is just amazing. Forget about the ship in the bottle :)
It may work as a commercial image for some brand of products.
Is there any particular meaning you are trying to convey by the combination of these elelements (jar and aerialists)? Is this part of a series on similar motifs?

Thanks for the kind words!

This particular shot was just me trying to see if I could capture it. There's a photographer in Finland that does similar shots with night sky in bottles using double exposures. I told my friend I could do it in a single exposure so I had to try it! This one was a lot harder than the night sky though!

Not sure about commercial use, as this is easy enough to do using Photoshop. No reason to go to this trouble unless the light painting process itself is part of the appeal!

Congratulations @danchick! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Talking about photographic creativity, damn I'm impressed! Really outside of the box thinking (or inside the jar... whatever suits you).
How did you do the lensswap? Wasn't even aware that your camera does even allow that while it is on and shooting a picture at that time 🤔

Thanks!! Lens swapping is scary, it's not really an advertised feature. Since it's impossible in the timeframe that most shots take place in. When you're shooting in darkness you have that option. Here's a good crash course http://lightpaintingblog.com/dark-art-lens-swap/

This is some next level photography creativity..
Splendid work indeed.
I'm eager to see more of your work! :D

Thanks Ivan!!

I'm impressed you can get aerialists out into a warehouse at night. I think that might be the hard part :)

That WAS one of the more challenging parts of the night. More that they had to wait, after they set up, while our mid size group sorted itself, got the tour, got set up. They seem to like the images though!!

I'm sure they do. They are great to use for promos of what they do. The image is very captivating

Lovely clicks you have in there. I really hope to learn a lot of photography from you soon. Keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68