You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stick or Bug? (Original Macro Photography)

in #photography6 years ago

I really need to do more research because in Colombia every one tells me that this type of insect are poisonous and dangerous, and that they kill horses.

I love the butt shot! I love bug butts and I cannot lie! Anatomy of strange creatures fascinates me, and I thank you for scratching that itch, while making me itchy all over! ;p

Sort:  

Haha :-) These guys are really large, for an insect, but spindly and fragile. As far as the insect kingdom goes, they're pretty benign.

Minnesota does have some poisonous critters, but not many. Most won't do much more than cause a lot of pain, unless their victim has an allergic reaction.

I should ask my Colombian friends about the insects there. Only one grew up near the jungle, though. I'm guessing that's where the wildlife gets a bit more diverse and interesting...

Indeed! Though 'jungle' is not the only part interesting! We are in cloud forests, and there are deserts, and all types of areas, and I assure you all are interesting ;p with many more and different critters than us up north (I'm from Wisconsin). Surely the wet tropics have the most, but just by not having winter there is so much more opportunity for life.

Ask them about matacaballos and see what they say! (thats the stick bug ;) And report back here on Steem please! It's one of the great still unsolved mysteries in my head!

Hahaha, will do. I will see them all next week, most likely, as we have a graduate teacher orientation / workshop. It should be... "fun." It's basically six hours of straight meetings for a week.

Chatting with the others will be enjoyable, though! They call me an "español," because I lived in Andalucía and speak like they do. :-)

Meetings are boring! Spanish people speak very goofy! Similarly with England and the US, we say that, you might have invented the language, but we in the 'new world' perfected it ;p

Cheers!

Hahaha... Well, if you get the chance, check out "Curso Dandalú" on YouTube. :-)

I'm clicking through! I'll click anything once ;p

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64143.01
ETH 3154.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86