A Belizean Adventure With EarthAngels ๐ŸŒŽ๐Ÿ˜‡

in #photography โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

20180423_155024.jpg


Mmmm, Belizean Blue is a thing, right?

I took this in Corozal, on a bay of the Caribbean sea. The town is in the northernmost district of Belize, and is just 8 miles south of the Mexican border, and 8 miles north of Belize City. The sense of peace here is spacious. Wide open. It gives me the assurance that there is no need to stack and crowd life.

Don't get me wrong. Some of the best places are larger cities... like my beloved Chicago, which I miss... but also does the stack-and-crowd thing I no longer want to live in. For years, my heart had been HOWLING like a hungry, knowing wolf. Howling for this. And, look where the moonlight has brought me. So grateful.


EarthAngels In Belize: "A decentralized, hemp-based community to heal the earth."

earth-angel-logo.png

I am here with my earthangel.vision (EAV) co-founders on an amazing, multi-purpose, two-week trip. Many more details will follow about that.

I am still trying to word what it feels like to so deeply connect with your core sense of purpose, that it BECOMES REAL. Having spent so many painful years off purpose, I'm now utterly humbled to be a part of this mighty force for good!! AND NOT ALONE. Every day I am stunned by how much Good Work is compounded through cooperation and collaboration.

Just to be clear, anything I post about earthangel.vision from my @erikaharris account, is not an official EAV communication. We have reserved @earthangels, and will soon be posting EarthAngel updates from it, so please stay tuned for that! We are all bursting with excitement about what's possible here, and the beautiful forward motion being made.

page-divider.jpg

I hope that @earthangels will have many DTube/DLive videos from the origin of this vision, Gus Vasilakis. He is a DYNAMO, filled with so much smart strategy about how to amplify goodness, rewards, and benefits to as many as possible. He has a relentless drive to see the world more healthy and prosperous, and less hurt and polluted.

Gus is a fantastic writer. Wait 'til you see the whitepaper he co-wrote with his wife, Kathryn. It is nearly ready for public sharing! But his inspiring energy shines best in person. So that's why I look forward to seeing his presence here on Steemit. Only a few minutes with him is all it takes to believe, again, in the most beautiful things that we can all be, do, and have. So, you'll be hearing from Gus and other co-founders from the @earthangels Steemit account in a more official/professional capacity.

In addition to personal reflections I'll be sharing, I think there may be other posts from the personal accounts of the rest of our core team, which includes:


@barefootskiny

Tim (who goes by Skinny) is a long-term 20+ year expat in Belize. He's well-connected to the Belizean people, AND its land and animals. He lives in a jungle surrounded by so much life... allspice trees, toucans, harpy owls, coconut trees, howler monkeys that he can call to, and they call back!, and so much more flora and fauna I'm not remembering. But LIFE, y'all.

Skinny is also a very talented, professional musician. His music has that nice island flair, mon. Skinny's music and jungle-base helps keep us close to our bigger 'why' (which is flourishing nature). His skilled communication, positive local influence, and strong organization help us navigate what is foreign territory to the rest of us (although Gus does have considerable knowledge about Belize, due to his own previous business and travels here.)

I believe Skinny will be sharing his music here on Steemit. I would love to see him shoot some music videos on his property... and the let the jade green backdrop of his wildlife sanctuary speak for its gorgeous self, while Skinny sings and plays his tropical music.... and, who knows... maybe even creates NEW sounds and songs from this fresh chapter in life, eco-activism, and business.

20180423_180834.jpg

Dr. Albert, Gus, and Juan.


@juansgalt

Juan has developed expertise in crypto, security, and content creation. He is so lucid, and has unending ideas about how we can best leverage blockchain technology for streamlined workflows and other innovations he can best speak about.

While living in loose community with him the past two years, I watched him free himself with his knowledge. That's a heck of a thing to witness... an arc of growth that significant, in such a relatively short amount of time. He was principled enough to recently defend the strength of Bitcoin, to BitcoinJesus. I appreciate the irony, and bravery of that. One thing that has always fascinated me about Juan, is his equally strong philosophical curiosity about deep existential stuff.

I'm especially indebted to him for introducing me to Gus right as this project was taking form, and becoming real. Like so many other investors have found, I felt immediate resonance when I first learned of EarthAngel (which we then called "Hemp City".)

One other special thing about Juan is that he is a great dancer! Yes, movin' to music. And also dancing in thoughtful dialogue... where he will push, stretch and challenge you! You will be a better dancer/thinker after engaging with him. Don't miss. Do follow.


@mikeonfire

Michael is a builder's builder. In the two years I've known him, I've seen him consistently stand for, and practice, personal growth. Then, he took it many steps further, and has been applying those best practices, to every group he is a part of. He actively uses the wisdom he's synthesized, to shape our EAV meetings. It makes for a very time-efficient, and positive co-working experience. In addition to those humane skills, Mike's background in military leadership, construction and project management helps ensure that our physical structures are sound, and impeccably planned.

I'm so impressed by Michael's ability to see the strengths in everyone around him, and call them forth. It seems to give him deep satisfaction, to help facilitate people doing what they do best. It's a supremely selfless way to be, to WANT to help others shine. This strengthens the connective tissue of a team in ways that are hard to describe. But it feels like fluidity. Thanks for the ongoing gift of that, Michael.

20180423_180915.jpg

Tim, Me (writing this very post!), and Michael (with a tall glass of watermelon juice).

page-divider.jpg

So, that's general context for what will follow in my next several posts. And also is a quick introduction to my precious brothers, each of whom I hope you will follow and support with your Upvote, if you don't already.

Our access to wi-fi is intermittent (that's what we're doing in the pics above... making the most of great internet access), but I will post as often as I can... and with plenty of pictures, because this journey is too beautiful, not to be seen.

What burns ๐Ÿ”ฅ in your heart โค๏ธ is there for you to start! ๐Ÿ˜˜


Please also check out:

Morning mind, free of grind. ๐ŸŒ…

Sort: ย 

Absolutely gorgeous. Look forward to hearing more. I'm in monkey river right now but moving to Hopkins soon. Hoping to get together a small natural building community here in the south. Would love to connect! Yay team Belize! Are all of y'all still exchanging through US banks? I'd love to start a fiat exchange here and get more belizeans on crypto, especially Steemit.

@solarsupermama, how wonderful to connect with you! We visited, and adored, Hopkins. It is near a location we intend to pour a lot of love into. You should definitely be a part of it. We need permaculturists, regenerative designers, natural earth builders, and crypto-savvy earth-lovers, in general. Learn more, and join our mailing list at earthangel.vision.

Also, I'm following you now, and look forward to supporting your inspiring work here on Steemit!

I'm relocating from Acapulco to Belize soon, and look forward to connecting with you and your lovely children in real life!

That sounds wonderful. Is the place on the Southern Highway? There's some lovely spots over there. Thanks so much for the follow and support! I'll definitely hop on the mailing list, and I look forward to real life connecting too!

I only read this now @erikaharris and @solarsupermama, very interesting. Belize just keeps coming on my path by accident...Hmmmm...It's still on the books. Never goes away. I just keep dreaming while you guys keep building great things. One day...I just might join. Lovely to read this. Thank you.

Yesss! Drift on over. There is magic in this madness! No accident, for sure!

Haha, yes. At the moment, it would literally be drifting...on a raft LOL, as finances are that low. But that being said, I told the kids the other day we should buy a boat instead of a camper van...(now, that's a long way to go on any boat, but still...it's the thought that counts...) You never know. By the way, did you buy EOS when we spoke about it the last time?

I feel you. I seriously need to get out of this house!!!!! And I just can't afford it yet. I so want to boat across the Atlantic! It's a tremendous journey, but in particular there's a lot I want to see in Africa. First I gotta learn how to sail. Then I gotta steal a pirate ship.
No, I haven't done shit with crypto. Did it go way up?

Haha, I know how to sail but not sure if I'm confident enough to sail across the Atlantic with the family on board just yet. The pirate ship sounds like a plan though! as for crypto, EOS tripled in value not long after I mentioned it. It's gone down a little since, but I'm sure not for long.

Yeah, that is a big adventure. That's for sure on the long term goal list. I really, really want a pirate ship. Someone built a replica of The Black Pearl and was selling it a few years back. I wanted it so bad I could taste it. I will have a pirate ship. I really need to get my crypto game together. I keep having to spend everything I make. Where can I buy it? It's not on bittrex.

You really know how to blow my mind :) Shalom

How sweet. Thanks, @marvindean. Shalom to you, as well :-)

Oh my gosh! What a great update! So excited to be part of thia project and watching you guys create the foundation for this beautiful new reality!

You're awesome, @mscleverclocks. Thanks for standing with us! <3

YOU'RE A LIGHT TO GUIDE ME!!!! I'm so proud of you @erikaharris!!!

Thanks, @claireremz. You are a guiding light to me, too! ๐Ÿ˜™

Great introduction. I especially like the way you presented the other members of the group. I look forward to more about this project and its people.

I so appreciate your feedback, @stevenlytle, and look forward to sharing more! ๐Ÿ’—

I am excited to see and hear about this beautiful community! I love the idea! Who knows...maybe some day I could wind up moving there.

@stillwatersart, it would be a DREAM to live in community with you! ๐Ÿ’—

That is totally mutual! xoxo

Resteeming too! ๐Ÿ’•

Thank you for supporting me and this project with your resteem, @stillwatersart! ๐Ÿ˜

Great post I always love it when I see Steemers connecting. Brilliant !!!

What would you advice be on CBD oil in the UK. I need to source some for my father ?

@vibeof100monkeys, in light of the article linked below, I encourage you to prioritize the health and well-being of your father, OVER your country's immoral/unethical/harmful outlawing of medicine. Mindful, conscious disobedience... in pursuit of health sovereignty.

Once you make the mental shift (to be the ultimate governor of your own body, and to help your father do the same), you'll be surprised by how easily you find the medicine you seek.

If you need further support, please message me on Discord: ErikaHarris#6443

Wishing you and your Dad the very best.

http://metro.co.uk/2018/05/01/sadly-government-said-no-plan-legalise-cannabis-7513411/

Thank you for your kin thoughts!

This country if becoming more of a regime daily, but thats another point. We can buy CBD oil but i'm not sure on it potency. I offered my father some good contacts in his town (where I used to live). He is worried about the effected on his medication as he was on too much before and had a Seizures, a reason not to take them if you ask me, but hey.

I am working on him and so is my stepmother now. But yes if he does not listen I will contact my friends and just get some dropped of to his house.

I am not on Discord currently don't have enough time with that and Steem. Keep up the great work and hope to speak soon

Love it๐Ÿ’“ Looking forward to hearing more love๐ŸŒธโœจ

Thanks so much, sweet @mikaleone! I look forward to sharing more. ๐Ÿ’š๐ŸŒฟ

Thanks so much for the update! I heard Gus speak on EarthAngels while in Acapulco and was personally so excited about his vision then. Glad to see things are falling into place. There are so many great minds collaborating together on this; I don't see how it could fail! Going to follow @earthangels now if I haven't already. Beaming blessings and love your way Erika โ™ก

Thank you so much for your support and encouragement. I felt/feel the same way about @earthangels' vision, too, and look forward to collaborating with you! Returned blessings and love to you, @hempress. xo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65821.61
ETH 3008.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74