Sort:  

I don't remember for sure, but some where south of Mitchell down near the Missouri River. I had gone out there to see the area where my great-grandparents had homesteaded near Avon SD.

Ah, I never got that far. I was living in Watertown for a couple years. It was one of the most desolate, boring places I've ever been. Seeing the old homestead would have been interesting. Is the house still standing?

No, they never had much of a house. It was more of a shack and they only lasted for 2 years out there before they came back to Northern Illinois.

After living in SD, I can't say as I blame them! Especially if it was near the turn of the century. Things would have been terribly difficult out there.

The stories of the hundreds of rattle snakes would have been enough to send me home!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68