Travelicious Canada - BC Museum & Butchart Gardens

in #photography6 years ago

IMG_20180511_144458.jpg

DSC_8797.jpg

IMG_20180511_155058_1.jpg

It's time for the final post about my trip to Canada! I'd be a little sad to end it if I wasn't about to fly to New York. In this post I'll be sharing the pics I took at the British Columbia Museum and then the Butchart Gardens. Starting off with this amazing smoothie bowl that I got from a place called JUSU inside of a building called The Atrium.

BeFunky-collage (3).jpg
BeFunky-collage (17).png

IMG_20180509_133106.jpg

After that I headed to the museum to see all of the exhibits. I'd definitely recommend a visit there if you are anything like me and enjoy some nerdy history facts. Although, it wasn't all boring facts. There were plenty of fun things for the kids and the entire museum is full of elaborate displays. I really liked the natural history wing with all the animals.

DSC_8730.jpg

DSC_8732.jpg

DSC_8738.jpg

They just seemed so real! (Oh, and forgive the bad pics, it was really dark.)

DSC_8740.jpg

BeFunky-collage (16).png

DSC_8745.jpg

The human history was also quite interesting and had just as many fun things to look at. Lots of totem polls as the history of Canada is full of the indigenous peoples and SOOOO many languages. Wow, I had no idea there could be so many dialects within such a small range.

DSC_8749.jpg

DSC_8750.jpg

DSC_8754.jpg

There is also plenty of maritime history if you're into that. Also, can we just take a moment to ponder the propriety of certain arts. I mean.............

DSC_8758.jpg

Eh hem, yeah, moving on. (There are kids here people!)

IMG_20180511_144410.jpg

BeFunky-collage (13).png

DSC_8772.jpg

After exploring the museum I headed out to the Butchart Gardens on a tour bus. It's a bit of a drive outside the city but the tour guide made the whole thing pass quickly by telling so many fun bits of trivia about Victoria.

DSC_8792.jpg

BeFunky-collage (5).jpg

DSC_8816.jpg

BeFunky-collage (6).jpg

DSC_8819.jpg

DSC_8823.jpg

The gardens were incredible, however, I think you need to have had a little experience with gardening to truly appreciate all of the work. I have played with gardening in the past so I was amazed at the beauty thriving all around me.

DSC_8780.jpg

BeFunky-collage (8).jpg

DSC_8854.jpg

It's split into sections of different types of gardens. There's the Japanese Gardens, Italian Gardens, Rose Garden, and Sunken Garden.

DSC_8873.jpg

BeFunky-collage (9).png

DSC_8795.jpg

BeFunky-collage (12).png

I had such a great time exploring and walking around, but of course the day had to end so after that I headed back to my hotel to get ready for travelling home the next day. I hope you enjoyed seeing my adventures and I'm so SOOOO excited to share as much as I can from New York!

DSC_8803.jpg

IMG_20180511_162805.jpg

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas and inspiration, please do not forget to look at my other recent posts

  1. Simple Indian Masala Chickpea Curry
  2. Crunchy Quinoa Walnut Granola (No Added Sugar)
  3. Extreme Reese's Chocolate Brownies
  4. Smooth & Creamy Strawberry Rhubarb Meringue Pie
  5. Creamy Kale & Spinach Chickpea Macaroni
  6. The Easiest Creme Brulee Ever
  7. Quick & Easy Vegetarian Egg Rolls
  8. One-Pot Creamy Mushroom Chicken & Broccoli Gnocchi
  9. Chocolate, Caramel, & Banana "Banoffee" Cake
  10. Avocado Chicken Green Enchilada Bake

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

IMG_20180512_122447_493.jpg

Did you catchall the other posts from my Canada travels?

  1. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: City Sights + Chinatown
  2. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Whale Tales + Fisherman's Wharf
  3. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Castles, Gardens, &.....X-men?
  4. VIDEO! Travelicious Canada: Victoria, British Columbia
  5. Travelicious Canada - Victoria, BC: Craigdarroch Castle

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

White Poster.00_00_04_08.Still002.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Greetings, sweet and beautiful gringalicious

I found your tour very beautiful in the Canadian Museum !!!
I imagine that one I have changed from there portrays stories that are not told here in my country, because the distance and the culture are very different. I imagine that behind that bear photo there is a story. There is no bear here anymore.

But what struck me the most were the photos attached to nature. I found the photos of these gardens very beautiful, especially those with flowers that look like roses. I do not know if they are roses, because I do not understand flowers so much, but, they are beautiful !!!

Thank you for posting and good afternoon !!!!

Beautiful art pieces
Great experience .. good for you
Thanks for sharing‏..

wow I mean the museum is something really interesting, awesome posts as always:)

That's so kind of you. Thanks for your support @edgarsart!

Great post of a great place!

I live in Vancouver and hopefully you got some time there and up in Whistler.

The BC Museum is fantastic - great pics!

BC is really a place everyone should visit at least once.

Apart from the politicians, it's a fantastic place to be. I was born and raised there. Even though I know it like the back of my hand, there's always something to explore.

Great post! I seems you enjoyed it very much, thanks for sharing!

Really love your pics they are so beautiful! My daughter is so impressed with your camera 😎.. Now I know what I got to get her for her next big gift. Thanks for sharing 👍🏾😁

So cool that you were there. Lot's of great memories for me!

Oh, thank you so much @kus-knee. So great to hear from you and I'm so glad we have travel memories in common.

I so much love the nice pictures taken in the
Butchart Gardens!
and also those seen in the museum.
Indeed they are wonderful.
I really wish to be there some day!
Thanks for sharing

I'm always excited to share with friends. Thanks @roman3!

Wow. I'm really enjoying so much beautiful pictures. Actually these were more beautiful. It is understood by seeing your picture that you have enjoyed it. You got the chance to see and learn a lot through your post.

I like the flowers Tori. The pink ones especially. lovely selfies too :)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97