An impending catastrophe...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

There's a pun there, and a cat. I've been with @ursa for quite some time now, and on Christmas Eve, 2018, after a delayed flight, a night in a shitty hotel in an even shittier city, and a side-tracked family walk, and meeting some new faces that will one day become family, I stumbled down onto one knee, the sun at my back, and asked @ursa if she'd condemn herself to spend the rest of her life with me.

I forgot to bring tissues, but she said yes.She cried. I probably hurt my knee. I forgot the damn tissues.

Yes changes everything in a moment, and now there's so much planning that I can't be fucked doing. So much expense that I can't be fucked spending on. But, I got this excellent photo of a reluctant cat, and a piece of metal with several gemstones and crystals adorning it.

It is a tradition that should be replaced with burger rings, or the ring-pulls from a soda can.

The cat was not harmed in the taking of this photograph. Between the commitment of a house, a small, four legged animal, and ongoing co-habitation, I don't see the need for a ceremony, a honeymoon, and a scrap of paper indicating that some historical, ancient tradition subverted by the government is now a legal contract.

I'm not going anywhere without you, @ursa, and that includes the Steem Blockchain. Stay tuned for future, sap-less posts that don't go on about notions of love, chemical pheromones and all that "the race must continue" bullshit.

I'm devoted, committed, and have long, new chapters of my life to write.

This time, with someone else by my side. Until I'm a cripple, she's stuck wtih me.

Are there any Steem Monster lawyers who can protect my Steem Monster collection in some sort of blockchain enabled pre-nup should this entire arrangement go south?

Sort:  

Oh my goodness a HUGE congratulations you guys!!!! So stoked for you and what a beautiful ring!!! 🙌💞💍🥰

Thank you! You'll get to see it at the Jan Meet up!

As actions speak louder than words, I'd say sacrificing your knee says an awful lot. ;)
Congratulations guys!
If it's any consolation, a wedding doesn't necessarily have to break the bank. I think we kept ours to less than £1000 including the dress. Honeymoon was Butlins as we had two kiddos by then. Like you, we felt the commitment was already made, but we were heading for the other side of the world, so we thought it a good way to bring the family together and please a few of them, while making things "legally" binding for the visas. It was a lovely day too and possibly all the better for being low stress.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm not planning on breaking any bank, or being extravagant with any ceremony, photography, parties, receptions, or invitations. There's no need to splurge 5 figures or more like most people tend to do. We're not going into debt for this. Not even for the honeymoon, which might be in the UK, by the looks of things. We'll discuss this further with you guys - I've been once before, but @ursa has never been!

Nothing better than local knowledge!

Galen might be a better bet. Sounds like he went to some nicer places than I know! Lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

I foresee a #steemit2 license plate in the near future. Congrats!

Nah, @ursa doesn't drive, and we won't be having any loin-gremlins.

ฅ/ᐠ≗ᆽ≗ᐟ\

Congratulations 😄 good luck with all the wedding shenanigans 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you - I might write something more personal, and in-depth about my thoughts about the wedding shenanigans to be.

Congrats to you both!

Posted using Partiko Android

That is awesome!!! I hope both of you much happiness and well wishes for the journey ahead :D.

There will be nothing but absolute and complete sadness. :D Thanks for the well wishes.

I genuinely could not be happier for you two! And like @minismallholding said, a wedding doesn't need to break the bank - or even be traditional at all. You don't need to spend a fortune on the whole affair; hell, you can just have a cheap wedding at a court and then go all out on a party, or just do it quiet like with dinner and close friends and family. Do what makes you happy, not what is expected of you!

Mt Crawford National Forest?

Now there's some PTSD flashbacks

Congratulations! It's one heck of a ride.. especially if you ever consider having children ... Then it's really a lifelong commitment!

Best of luck with your nuptials!

Children have always been out of the picture - there's no need to bring more suffering into this world.

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.066 which ranks you at #1011 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 199 contributions, your post is ranked at #49.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97