This way to happiness! / Horse riding near Pyramid Lake, Alberta, 🇨🇦steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography6 years ago

Back in 2013, while planning the steps of our trip to Alberta, I managed to secretly book up a surprise activity for my wife and I. Well, the surprise was hers, not really mine, duh!
I had examined different activities, and finally settled for a horse ride near Pyramid Lake since we had chosen spend a night in the vicinity.
Somehow I managed to keep the secret until the day arrived, and even until we got close to the Jasper Riding Stables, where she finally saw a signpost and started grinning. On the website, the place and the promenade looked amazing ; we were not disappointed.

the-valley

An appetizer for the rest of the pictures... Also, I think it's the best of the lot and it matches the title I've chosen ;-)

- 🏇 -

I did not take too much risk as she loves horses and is as comfortable on them as on a bike.
This was (and still is) far from being my case though, as it was only my second time ever. For the people worried about horse rinding for the first time, do not worry too much. Generally, they will give you a horse that is nice and slow and would not hurt a fly ; and the pace is typically really slow.
And indeed, mine was an old good boy that just followed our guide, and not so much (what he surely thought was) his clueless jockey!
He was such a good boy in fact that he stopped from time to time for no reason, or rather to look at some trees, then some grass, then some rocks, etc. Very curious guy! But he was doing all the job, with me just patting him between the ears, so I did not mind.
Too bad I don't have a good picture of him to share!

As for the ride, it took us around the lake, into the forest, up on a big hill, and then down and back to the camp.
The lake lies at the foot of Pyramid Mountain, very recognizable by its triangular shape. We did get only slightly closer to the mountain, but we stayed half the time in the forest. It was very peaceful, riding the horse steadily following the narrow paths, avoiding big rocks laying in from of him. And all along, we were hearing sounds of a busy forest, breathing with life. To guide us, we had the sun rays piercing through the branches and providing us with warm light.
Did I already say how blissful it was?

P1050322.jpg

Going through the forest. This is actually at the beginning. Later on, the path narrows down a bit, but it never feels dangerous at all. The horses are used to it and have no problem navigating between rocks and branches laying on the ground.

P1050298.jpg

pyramid mountain

You guessed it, it's Pyramid Mountain. The way it suddenly appears in front of you between branches is pretty cool. I remember just staring at it with my mouth open.

pyramin moundtain better view

And here is a better view, the mountain and the lake sharing the same name.

- ⛰️ -

The best part was obviously when we were on top of the hill, having a panoramic view of the whole valley, the river, and the mountains afar. This is the view you get when looking in the opposite direction of Pyramid Mountain. The main picture portraying this ride was taken from that vantage point.
We stopped there for a few minutes, nobody speaking after our guide told us the names of the river and the mountains. And only reluctantly did we start onto the path down to the forest, because nothing more could top that for the day.

the-valley

The vantage point where you see the whole valley, a few small lakes and a bunch of mountains. This would have been even better as a 360° picture in order to see all of them. Instead, we only see Grisette Mountain, Mount Dromore, and Sirdar Mountain on the left. The road between the mountains goes to Medicine Lake. Also, that's our guide with the cowboy hat!

P1050311 (2).jpg

On the right we have Mount Tekarra, Curator Mountain behind it, and lots of other mountains and mounts behind! The forest was also masking the road, but we were far enough from it to hear no traffic sound, and anyway it's not really that crowded.

other-side.jpg

Yes, this place is totally on Earth. I know, it's incredible, which is why I was just snapping pictures with my mouth shut. If we ever manage to terraform Mars, I hope for our descendants that it looks like that in a few hundred years. We can dream, right?

P1050325 (2).jpg

- ⛰️ -

If you are considering choosing an activity to do in Jasper Park, horse riding is definitely one of the best. Whether you are experienced or not, provided that the weather is good, it is not dangerous at all and absolutely worth it.
Also, not to underestimate: since you are going to stay on the horse for two to three hours (we could have chosen between 1, 2 and 3 hours, we chose the latter), you will get to exercise your hips and thighs, and also trying to sit with your back straight. That's sports, without moving your feet... Kind of! 😅

All in all, a blissful promenade, excellent for the body and the soul!

Sort:  

One day Ill get back to Canada, those views are great. I have never rode a horse, but I have ridden a Camel several times. It wasn't very pleasant.

Yes these views are great, I am kind of longing to get back there.
I don't know about camels, never tried. But just watching how they move it definitely does not seem that comfortable. But then again, I would have to judge first, maybe one day!

Honestly, take my advice and just don't!

Hehehe totally agree😂

That is beautiful surprise you did for your wife man. You chose the right title and thumb too. BTW what did you use to take the pics?

I've never been horseback riding, I fear I'm too heavy (100kg)
PS: I found your from @steemitworldmap

Thank you! Yeah it was a cool surprise but it turned out that I liked it very much myself!

As for the pics, they were taken using a borrowed camera, it was a reflex nikon, but I can't remember the exact model though (sorry I am a very amateur photograph)

And don't worry about the horse, you should be fine! They even write about that on the website. At that time I was between 85 and 90 kg, and no problem!

Nice. I shall look into some horseback riding. Probably when I'm in Jamaica.

Borrowed camera, I know the deal. I did the same a few weeks ago. Recently I've realized the value in a good camera. It's on my investment/electronic toy list:)

Sounds dreamy! I would love to try horseback riding one day. And what a beautiful place to do it 👌

It absolutely was dreamy! I'll do it again if asked without even considering the alternative.

The pictures look amazing. Your story reminds me of my experience in Tunisia where I rode a camel. Hope you'll try one day as it's surprisingly uncomfortable😂

Seems like I'll follow @slobberchops advice or at least I'll think twice before trying riding a camel! 😅

When I was kid, I rode with my brother for the first time. We were visiting a friend's country house. We did't know how to ride and we scraped our legs tightly. However the satisfaction persists! .. Very beautiful landscapes.

Yes! It kind of feels ok once you get off the horse, and only a few hours later you start to feel you've been exercising hehe 😅
Also you mention riding as a kid, I could definitely have added that it's very safe for kids. In fact we had a couple with us with an 8 year old or something kid; he was just grinning the whole trip 😃

A dream for any child an adventure like that. Totally agree, that interaction with horses is as healthy as with dolphins ... I've read about special therapies to recover physical or mental health.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-12T19:06:39
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 232.97/400.00
Total Photos: 29
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.62 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jalayn
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=this-way-to-happiness-horse-riding-near-pyramid-lake-alberta


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Thank you very much! And thanks for providing us with a pretty cool app! 👍

You seem to have fun horsing around over there :D

I did sir, I did! And I am far from being a cow boy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99