You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Musings XXVII

It's a strange thing, that for many years annoyed me, that beautiful women said they couldn't see their own beauty - my wife for one - she always was really gorgeous (I am being completely objective here :). We have discussed this for many years all through our relationship and one of her theories are that it can be hard to get to terms with your own beauty because it gives you power and opportunity you didn't ask for. A person who learns something valuable like data science can say: "I deserve this." But being a pretty girl is not something you thrived for. Make up is at least a bit of effort and it can be a substitute.

Not quite sure this is what you are talking about (I kind of implicitly goes with the fact that you are beautiful (because you are)), but it reminded me of these discussions, so I thought that maybe it could be interesting to mention.

P.S. A charming personality was always the highlight of any kind of human beauty.

Sort:  

Your wife was definitely onto something. How you view yourself can be really empowering. I would like to hold onto that power and genuinely embrace it rather than to fake it. I know a lot of women and men who struggle with their self confidence like I do. I can’t speak for them but I know that with me, I have to feel comfortable with myself to thrive. It’s not entirely how others see me but how I view myself through their eyes. It’s similar to how I view my art. Some days I love it but overall, I know I’ve got a long way to go. Searching for validation for yourself can be ridiculous in certain situations but then there is a flip side where it opens the door to much deeper issues.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87