You Don't Need The Best Camera

in #photography6 years ago

We all know equipment is important - the better equipment you have on photography the more and better gigs you have after certain level of photography experience of course.

However if you are passionate enough about capturing the most beautiful moments in life, you don't need the best equipment out there. In my case; I had a humble Fujifilm S200EXR gifted by my lovely father and it was the best camera in the world for me! A superzoom with very very small sensor (in the size of a pinkie finger nail) not Full Frame nor APS-C type. But I've always wanted to make pretty images... Capture the beauty around and reflect it through my point of view.

youdontneed001.jpg
Photography By Me - Magic Sunset On Istanbul Seashore

I managed to learn the get the most out of my amateur camera. First learned the software came with it to develop photos and started to shoot in RAW format which gave the opportunity to utilize the camera at its full potential. I've learned shooting with aperture priority with low ISO values and on tripod - allowed me to have movement on water surfaces to make reflections look much more interesting.

youdontneed002.jpg
Photography By Me - Majestic Sunset On Istanbul Seashore

And sunsets started look way more interesting since the color depth, values and microcontrast became deeper. Camera does matter at some point but mine was actually just a compact level camera with the look of a dSLR - which called a bridge camera. And it was second hand bought from the Turkish E-bay.

youdontneed003.jpg
Photography By Me - The Sunset Park On Istanbul Seashore

Anyone can do the same - all you need is passion and strong interest and of course a genuine belief inside that you can do it which comes automatically when you passion and interest. If I can do it - you can do it.

Sort:  

Thanks for the inspirational blog.

My pleasure! I'm glad you enjoyed...

I honestly feel like it's better to star photographing without a good camera. Once you get used to it, you can start thinking of investing into it.

Great photos but you could have made the shadows a bit brighter. Just my opinion though :)

I appreciate your input! I feel that if I start with a good camera I'd never fully appreciate it. I'm glad I've started with a below average one and it was a pocket camera made in China (Fuji S200EXR is actually among my best cameras :-)) -- starting with these later made me appreciate my Nikon dSLR very very much...

I have heard many people say that equipment is not important in photography. Before I did not believe them. But I started taking photos (before I had a camera but someone stole it) with my phone and the result was great. Less equipment it's just more constraint

Very true... The least crap you have with you, the more and better photographs you make; same goes also for me. My problem with phone cameras - which is not a problem, more like a preference - that they have a certain soft quality on them and I'm a sucker for sharpness. Feeling of using a camera designed especially and exclusively for photography and with a prime lens on it also wonderful to me :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75