The Old Dog Presents: Tree Tuesday And Bearded Maturity!

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

When you think of a tree perhaps you think of bark, the trunk, branches and leaves. There is a lot more to it though. Trees provide a home for mosses, algae, fungi, lychen and vines of various types as well.

I find that these growths add beauty, character and interest to the tree but are they harmful, helpful or neutral?

Symbiotic, Parasitic or Epiphytic?


Symbiotic: Denoting a mutually beneficial relationship. An example would be lichen growing on trees. It is a result of a symbiotic relationship between algae and fungi. The fungus provides a place for water and nutrients to collect that the algae takes advantage of; the algae instead uses its chlorophyll to produce food for both itself and the fungus.


Parasitic: Parasitic fungi for example attack living trees, penetrate their  outer defenses, invade them, and get nourishment from them. This causes disease and sometimes death of the host. Not all fungi are parasitic.


Epiphytic: An epiphytic organism grows on the surface but gets its moisture and nutrients from air, rain and debris that accumulates around it. Spanish moss would be an example of an epiphyte in that it grows on the host tree but is self sustaining.

Here is My Tree Tuesday Photo "Bearded Maturity"!


I love the details of the other vegetation growing on this tree but I lack the expertise to determine whether they are Symbiotic, Parasitic or Epiphytic. Do you know?


What About You?

  • Do you like the look of these growths on trees?
  • Do you think that the ones in my photo are harmful, helpful or neutral?


Thanks for following me on my blockchain travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you.  
 

Until next time,    

@kus-knee (The Old Dog)  

Let's Succeed Together!

Sort:  

@kus-knee,
Wow that photography! It's really beautiful and I doubt I could get that type of photography in this dry climate here!

Cheers~

Yes, I guess dampness is needed to grow a nice beard!

The amazing thing about a forest is that it is always evolving. Even the parasitic growers serve evolution and succession of a forest. Turning over new soil and continuing the cycle of life. It is amazing to think of the diversity found on that conifer pictured there. Amazing. Looks very west coast that shot. Where are you situated?

Yes it is a marvel. I’m located in Southern Switzerland near the Italian border.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Nice corner of the world, I am told:):):)

As is yours. I haven't been there in a few years but much of my family is in B.C.

Where ... I am in Vancouver.

Vancouver, Victoria, Salmon Arm, Terrace, and Prince Rupert. Well dispersed.

Visually they are very appealing to me. I'd say the ones in your photo are neutral. Here's an example of a parasitic one I found in Puerto Vallarta. I saw examples of these where an underlying palm tree was completed choked out and rotted. This particular example will probably be several years of slow death for the host tree. IMG_2832.jpg

Thanks for the photo. Death by slow strangulation?

Not sure it's strangulation per se, but it seems to overwhelm the host tree where it can't get enough light to survive.

Gruesome in any case! :)

From Google:
"Once in contact with the ground, the fig enters a growth spurt, plundering moisture and nutrients that the host tree needs. The strangler fig's roots encircle the host tree's roots, cutting off its supply of food and water, ultimately killing the host tree."

Thanks for the information, I didn’t know that there are varieties of growths. I thought it was always bad for the tree

Me too! I need to learn every day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This looks beautiful. I don’t know what type it is. Maybe we will find out

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes maybe we’ll find out. I hope so!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't know but I do love the photo! I think the ivy vine could be harmful if it was a young tree or had a slim trunk. Generally I think vines like that are not good for trees so could fall under parasitic. The lichens and moss are probably fine though. Certainly, an interesting and lovely photo! :)

Thanks for your visit and your thoughts!

You're very welcome!

I love the double (moss + ivy) beard of your tree! Not sure if I have a similar photo but I just took what would be a great entry for your next Reaping What You Did Not Sow photo contest :)

Glad that you like it and hopefully I'll have a new round soon.

I like this look, sir, I don't think the relation between moss and trees is problematic, I often see and trees have no other effect on parasites which can harm the trees they are on.

You are probably right.

Very harmonic relationship, I often see bonsai plant lovers who stick to moss rooted bonsai to give an exotic impression.

Posted using Partiko Android

Interesting.

I am no expert, but I tend to think the moss and lichen to be symbiotic as your description says. However, I am certain that many of the vines can be harmful. In fact I have friends in England that take a small saw with them as they hike and cut the huge vines. Some are nearly as thick as your arm!

Let's hope Tarzan doesn't swing by and have an accident!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62