You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Macro Insects and a Focusing Tips (Original Macro Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Breathtaking!! The first picture with the mosquito eating the other bug must hve been hard to get, so tiny, but really cool. Great tips, tiny critters are more sluggish just as the sun comes up and stay put longer at least to take a picture. My camera, something so tiny it never wants to auto focus I generally just go manual for most insect photos, it's easier.

Sort:  

Thanks! I'm not sure what that green fly was eating, but it made an interesting shot.

If your eyesight is good, manual focus is definitely the way to go.

My eye sight isn't good but I'm near sighted (I see well close but blurry far)so the camera act like my glasses that I don't wear but it's easier for me to spot tiny critters being near sighted. I just need them to stay put long enough for me to find the sweet spot.

It would be amazing to be able to take photos without contacts. I've got -9.5 in both eyes, which is very nearsited. Without my glasses, I can't see anything other than about five inches in front of my nose. I also have loss of photoreceptors in my central vision, so I can't correct it to 20/20. My right eye was something like 20/80 (corrected) last time I was in, and that's my "good" eye.

If I ever have an income again, I want to get a mirrorless camera. I've been looking at Fujifilm's X series and the new ones from Canon. Maybe the electric viewfinder will make things easier.

Oh wow that is a pretty extreme correction I don't even want to imagine, mine is just mild, I can find a needle in a hay stack but I can't read a road sign!! haha I only wear my glasses when I'm in the classroom or taking public transit, stuff where I actually need to see lol, 1.25 & 1.50 (I don't know the - or + , just the #)

Don't worry, you will find a job soon, don't loose hope!! A mirror-less is a good goal to look forward to. I'm interested in seeing this tech develop over the coming years. I didn't know Fuji had a model, canons are good cameras that last forever too. I want to get a Nikon mirror-less when I can afford it, they only have one lens at the moment tho, so I'm not in a rush either but my camera is losing pieces when I'm using it lol it's so old so it might just be that time. Good luck and have fun finding your future camera!

It is fascinating to see how the technology is changing photography lately. Canon is supposedly bringing back their innovative eyeball-guided autofocus that they developed in the 90's, and improving it. They had a film camera that could detect where you were looking and focus that spot. They just patented a mirrorless version.

The Fujifilm X series looks really nice, but it's APS-C and I would like to move to full frame for better low-light performance. A lot of travel photographers have gone with Fuji for the size and weight.

Nikon's are nice but, like you say, way behind in the lens department

Ha! I tried walking to town without contacts or glasses, once. I should have brought a white came! It's nice you have the option, even if your distance vision is a bit blurry.

Maybe they'll invent cyborg eyes, someday...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62789.36
ETH 3158.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82