You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Defense

in #photography6 years ago

Yes indeed... And this is just as true for beloved ideas/beliefs we like to hold on to as it is for people close to us.

How aware of your own biases are you? =) ... I find that it does help trying to keep the existence of confirmation bias in my mind all the time so that I can play devil's advocate with myself at any time, especially in times when I'm feeling passionate about something. If I'm defending an idea with more gusto than usual, my first flag goes up and I check myself. This sometimes leads people to think of me as a "fence-sitter" without convictions, but that's okay for me. I don't think having convictions is a healthy thing.

Hmm.. Thinking about it now... I do have a few convictions, it seems ;P .. But I like to think that I'd be ready to change them if new information came to light which cast their validity as good ideas into doubt. So then, can I really call them convictions?

Thank you as usual for a wonderfully thought-provoking post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62422.21
ETH 3177.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78