You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ice in Monochrome (Original B&W Photography)

in #photography5 years ago

Fabulous photos! I drove a couple different Jeeps for over 20 years. They are a great vehicle for getting around this part of the country in the winter time. I still laugh when I think of my dad words of wisdom about my jeeps. He always said that the only thing that I had going for me there is that I would just get stuck deeper then someone in a 2 wheel drive car! I did hit a patch of black ice once and spun around and put it in the ditch and had to be pulled out. Embarrassing, but no damage. Nominating to @c-squared.

Sort:  

Thanks! I'm hoping to get some sunlight down there tomorrow morning, but it's also gotten colder. We're not sub-zero yet.

Sometimes, there's just nothing you can do. I managed to hit a slick patch going around a corner already, with the Jeep. I ended up half way up the curb in the snowbank, but it drove right out! It's so much easier than my RWD Ranger was. I used to have trouble getting traction when the light turned green, even with four sandbags in the bed.

I bought that Ranger used and ended up pouring a lot of money into it in repairs. The lady I bought it from said it didn't have ABS but, after owning it four four years, I hit the brake and the ABS kicked in! It had never come on before. It worked one time and, then, the ABS error light came on and it never worked again!

That truck was a money sink, but I do miss having manual transmission and crank windows.

The sun is shining here now! The clouds cleared up a while ago. I had almost forgotten what the sun looks like!

I'm seeing lots of temperatures in the teens this week for lows, but at least it's not single digits yet.

Crank windows! I could never miss those! Although the HHR that I have right now has the window buttons in the center console. I will never remember that. I always reach for the button on the door to roll the window down. I haven't driven a manual transmission since I was a kid. I doubt that I would even remember how.

Can't wait to see your Frozen waterfall pictures with sunlight on them!

The sun is out here today, too! I had to be in class, since it was the last day before the final and my students had presenatations to give. The sun only reaches the ice for about an hour in the morning, so I'll try and get up early and head over there. It will be about 10º when I'm out, if the weather people are to be believed...

You are a very brave guy! Dress warmly and don't take any risks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63956.43
ETH 3320.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92