You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Photography | When Can I Call Myself a Photographer?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Your photographs are good enough for you to start calling yourself a photographer whenever you choose to. But I understand where your hesitation is coming from.

There are several opinions about where to call yourself a "thing" (photographer, artist, writer), and I noticed that most of the differences are cultural (at least what is visible to me). North America is more focused on confidence, Europe on quality (I don't have enough information to know how the situation is in other cultures).

By "Focus on confidence" I mean that someone would call themselves a poet or an author, even if they wrote only several poorly put together pieces that no one beside their friends read. You write, therefore you are a writer. You doodle, therefore you are an artist. You take pictures, therefore you are a photographer. On the other hand, I, and I see that you do it too, would seek for the proof/confirmation/knowledge that my work is good enough to call myself an artist/writer/whatever it is that I am doing. Because I wouldn't call myself an author if I know, or at least suspect, that I am a bad one.

But that's not your case. You are a good photographer :)

Sort:  

Wow, thank you so much for this comment! I love it when people take their time to really read my post and respond to what I'm writing! And yes, you are so right. I can call myself a photographer, or a writer if I want too. But when I know I'm not as good as what I want to be just yet, I won't put a label on it. I know that I take good pictures, but I also know I'm capable of doing better if I educate myself more, on both writing and photography. I want people to be amazed, and feel something when they see my work. Thanks again for your comment, I really appreciate it :) Giving you a follow my friend :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63236.79
ETH 3280.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85