The Story of My 'Neighbor'

in #photography5 years ago

We all know that neighbors are the ones who lived next door, not forgetting the ones lived nearby. A Muslim friend of mine once told me, the term 'neighbors' in Islamic view includes not only the ones who are living next door, but 40 houses around you (a random search on the internet proves that this is right, here you go). Simple said, ALL the people who lived around you ARE your neighbors.


It's been a long while since the last time I wrote stuff.
Truth: Procrastination


So my STPM exams are officially over since early December, and yes this means my life as a NEET has officially begun. :pain:

And yes I linked up the terms in case you don't understand what I say.

So as me myself spending this 1¾ month at home watching anime, chat with people, and maybe going out with friends once in a while, I started to notice that there are some weird noises coming out from the tree outside during the night.

First thought: Watched too much anime. Ears got a bit sore. And I slept.


But when some nights I started hearing them again even I'm not watching any anime that night, I started to feel weird. Told my parents and guess what? They hear it too (haha I really thought my ears got some problem).

The first thing the next morning my parents went out and look at the tree, we're suprised that we have a new 'neighbor' next door without us noticing.


Wink. Say hi to the owl.


This owl was here since early January (and still staying here as the time I'm writing this!). Not sure where it came from, but we guessed that it came from a random city council nearby which it may be supposed to be helping the city on reducing the rat population. What's fun, this owl (apparently this owl is a mother owl) brought in her baby to stay with her a week or two later.


Baby owl: Now why are you taking a photo of my butt? And yes this is the owlet (Fact: Owlet = Baby owl).


My dad don't like them at first.

Main reason: We have a rabbit.

We must acknowledge the fact which owls are carnivores, which means our (only) rabbit could become the owl's food if left unattended outside the cage. So my dad decided to give some time for the baby owl to grow up and shoo the owls away somewhere after the Chinese New Year (aka the Lunar New Year) for the sake of the rabbit.

But that one incident changed my dad's mind later on.


Another normal day at home. Mum is doing stuff, my sisters came back from their librarian duties, and me cooping up in my room watching anime as usual. Nothing much happened that day like any other day until one of my sister noticed someone is taking a stick and attempting to drag the owlet off the tree.

She thought it may be OK since we seen them flying around a few days ago before the day of incident so she just ignore it.
Thud.
Before we could know, the owlet was beaten off the tree and been taken away. The moment we realized it is already too late. The stranger (never seen him around according to mum) took the owlet and zoomed away with his motorcycle.

The mother came back an hour or two later. Knowing the fact that her owlet is missing, the only thing she could do is crying out calling for the poor owlet, hoping this little thing will come back to the nest. That night we heard the owl hooting around. Even frequent than normal, and in a low, monotonous tone.

A mother worrying their own child. Not only on humans, this even exists within animals. Motherly love occurs everywhere, so do not (EVER!!) think animals are emotionless.


2 days later, the stranger came back with the owlet on his hand. Mum noticed his presence and observed him all the way. Apparently he wanted to put back the owlet with the stick he used to beat down the owlet 2 days ago, but he failed to put him back. Leaving the poor and hungry owlet under the tree, the stranger left the scene again with his motorcycle.

Getting afraid that it may be taken away by stray cats (yes cats eat birds, which may include owls), we decided to take the ladder and put it back. A while later, the mother returned and happy to see it's child is back. Throughout the afternoon, the atmosphere is filled with the owlet's cries, maybe it's crying to its mother that how a stranger came and beat itself off the tree, taken away, and left starving for two days.

Feeling pity to the owlet and the mother, my dad decided to postpone indefinitely his plan on shooing off the owls as long as they don't cause harm on our stuff (especially the rabbit). A few days after the incident, the owlet, which regained energy, started to hop around. Though slow progress, the owlet started hopping from the nest, going higher, until today where even us humans are unable to touch them (even on a ladder) thanks to the height of the tree. Perhaps its wings got wounded, the owlet hopped around branches and electrical wires instead of flying around as before. Unlike the days happened before the incident, the mother now sticks around with the child longer than before, afraid that its child got taken away by the others.


Owlet: Mum, do you think that guy will get us again?

Owl: Relax, from what I see, nobody can get us now. Even humans need a really tall ladder to reach here. Don't forget to greet that human family in there. They saved your life once.


Well the owls are still here, on the tree outside my house, looking at the night sky. And now my family has a new 'habit' - Look and call out the owls before going out or going back in. Yeah the owls will look back at us (by turning its head over. Fact: Owls can turn their head 360°, well 270° in exact), sometimes bowing down while looking at us in curiosity. Never felt happier when seeing the owls are OK.

Fun but dangerous fact: That tree where the owls are living right now was a nest for bees. Twice.

Another fun fact: I could consider my house as a mini petting zoo (and botanical garden) since we have quite some stuff other people doesn't, yes in terms of plants and animals.


Alright that's all for today. Here's an owl photo to end this up. See you all next time!

Owl: I need a nap. Shoo human.


All photos taken with Canon EOS 6D.


- Misty.EXE

Follow my Steemit account for more text walls!

Like my FB page for random rants!

Follow my Instagram account for more photos of mine!

Sort:  

How dare you make another text wall without telling me when you publish it so I can read it sooner? Well probably blame myself for following a little too many people :pain:

To be honest I never saw owls outside of zoos... They look very cute <3

I can't imagine what will happen if the same thing happened in my house because we have two dogs. Probably sleepless nights forever because yeah 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Well dogs normally won't bark at owls that much. I guess. It may happen at the first few days, but eventually your dogs may get used to them hahaha.

Well you can stalk my blog from time to time since I'm planning to write some stuff over the few weeks but procrastination :pain:

Canon powah! But I'm a Panasonic guy 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Honestly any brand is OK, all cameras are good as long as it can capture good photos in my opinion. ;)

Hey @mistyexe, great post! I enjoyed your content. Keep up the good work! It's always nice to see good content here on Steemit! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 2 SBD worth and should receive 135 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hello @mistyexe! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66