You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fantasy Orchids - Miltonia Breathless Beauty

in #photography6 years ago

Orchids look so amazing because of your perfect clicks. I couldnt get the background, is it edited or it was night and you managed the lighting this way? So magical

Sort:  

Thanks. I use a lens with a low aperture (opening) . It gives me very short depth of field, thus blurring the ceiling in my home.

I tried low aperture before but the images were blurry. I guess you use a tripod? kind of long exposure photography right? cool pics

at f1.8, a lot of light gets to the sensor all at once, so you don't really need a long shutter speed. The background will naturally blur. However, this crates a very short focal length and thus not all of the flower is in peak focus. Both shots were captured without a tripod. As long as I keep my shutter speed faster than 1/60th of a second, I can shoot without much visible camera shake.

There is a process called focus-stacking, where multiple shots are taken of the same scene at different focal lengths, then combined to get an image that is 100% in focus.

In order to get the full flower in focus with just one shot, I'd need to increase my aperture, but doing this would not get me the nice creamy background (called bokeh).

That was a smart move to use focus-stacking, i checked this option in microscope before :) And, that is what i was wondering, i shall have to write down what you said and follow the steps. I really liked that shot. It has a feeling of some other world. Also, i have f1.8 but i didnt know i could snap such shots with that. Great talent you got mr rebele

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75